Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

05-13-2008

Midwest

6 Signins

114 Page Views

• Views: 114
  • Message 1 of 6

Soundmax Integrated Digital HD Audio Issues

2008-05-13, 4:21 AM
Please be patient as this is my first time using the forum but I am desperate.  I bought a "brand new" Lenovo Desktop 3000 K100 desktop computer and the sound does not work.  Everything else seems to be fine.  I called Tech Support and this is what has been done so far:

1.  They checked the sound settings on the PC which were turned all the way up.
2.  We checked Device Manager to be sure that the audio shows that it is working and it says that it is.
3.  They had me uninstall the driver and reinstall it from the driver CD that came with the computer.  We then tried the driver from Windows for the audio which did not work.
4.  They had me do a One-Key Recovery on the C: drive back to factory defaults and that didn't work.
5.  They felt that the motherboard was bad so a technician showed up today with a new motherboard which after installing would not even go into Windows.  It just kept rebooting so now Tech Support is sending a new motherboard.  He called support and they told him to go through One-Key Recovery again which we knew would not solve the problem but we did it anyway.  He installed the original motherboard back into the computer because it at least worked but with no sound. 

Now, I need someone's opinion on what I've noticed about the sound.  The internet is full of problems with the Soundmax not working with Vista.  If I turn down every noise in the room I can hear the sound very faintly even though it set to the maximum.  I put the speakers back on my old PC which is an HP and they work fine so I know that it isn't the speakers.