cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
rackasaur
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2019
Location: US
Views: 341
Message 1 of 11

Upgrade 720 M.2

Hey everyone, I'm interested in upgrading my IdeaCenter 720-18ASU 90H1000US (AMD) 128GB M.2 with a 1TB M.2

 

How difficult and is it possible to migrate Windows 10 and the system files to the new M.2? What are the steps?

 

Does this system have one M.2 slot or two (I looked inside but I can't really tell how many there are)?

 

What is the form factor of my current M.2 for compatibility (I'm looking at this one: https://www.newegg.com/crucial-p1-1tb/p/N82E16820156199) or any suggestions?

 

https://psref.lenovo.com/syspool/Sys/PDF/Lenovo%20Desktops/ideacentre%20720-18IKL/ideacentre_720_Spe...

 

Thank you!

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,101
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 321
Message 2 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

Hi rackasaur,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

You have option to use cloning tools such as those discussed here for duplicating the image. OEM available capacity for m.2 PCIe SSD is up to 500GB but others may claim able to place 1TB which we cannot guarantee.

 

There are two SATA ports on the board but only one port for M.2,2280,PCIe3x4 as shown here.

Here is the hardware manual for added reference.

 

I hope this helps answer your query.

 

Regards

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,379
Registered: ‎12-31-2011
Location: US
Views: 305
Message 3 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2


@rackasaur wrote:

What is the form factor of my current M.2 for compatibility (I'm looking at this one: https://www.newegg.com/crucial-p1-1tb/p/N82E16820156199) or any suggestions?



The most popular M.2 2280 PCIe SSD cards are the Samsung 970 Evo and 960 Evo. 

__________________________________________________________________________
I do not work for Lenovo. I do not respond to Private Messages for help, your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where the information exchange may help others. If I helped you, click the 'Kudos' button, if solved, the 'Accept as Solution'.
rackasaur
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2019
Location: US
Views: 258
Message 4 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,101
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 242
Message 5 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

Hi rackasaur,

 

Greetings.

 

Specifications shows M.2 SSD / PCIe NVMe, PCIe 3.0 x 2 not SATA for the m.2 like those listed in the hardware manual (page52).

 

 

It may fit but may not be recognized as a supported storage device.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

rackasaur
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2019
Location: US
Views: 238
Message 6 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

rackasaur
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2019
Location: US
Views: 236
Message 7 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

I'm thinking this one here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BN4NJ2J/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

 

 

It indicates it's  3.0 x4 instead of 3.0 x2, will this make a difference?

 

Thank you again!

Highlighted
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,101
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 232
Message 8 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

Hi rackasaur,

 

This one looks ok as the specification matches.

 

As always suggested purchasing from third party sources / brand to still check the return options just in case.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

rackasaur
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-08-2019
Location: US
Views: 218
Message 9 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

Okay, yes, that one looks great.

 

Would I need to upgrade my PSU (currently 400W)? If so would I need an adapter cable to connect the new PSU?

 

Thank you!

 

FULL Drive :-(

 

full drive.png

 

   

 

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,101
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 200
Message 10 of 11

Re: Upgrade 720 M.2

 Hi rackasaur,

 

No need to change the PSU for the m.2 upgrade.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors