Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

06-29-2009

Houston,TX

3 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-29-2009
  • Location: Houston,TX
  • Views: 37
  • Message 1 of 3

Upgrading the K220

2009-06-29, 15:38 PM

I have a K220 5358-1FU with E5200 and 4GB of DDR3-8500 (1066) memory.  I have already upgraded the power supply to 450w and a 1GB Nvidea graphics card.  I would like to now replace th CPU with an E7200 Duo2 Core or an E8200 Quad core. 

 

My only problem is that the board is a Lenovo brand which is currently running at 800mhz FSB speed and there is no documentation on the website about this board.  Therefore, I would like to know if anyone can tell me if this board can run at 1066mhzFSB  or 1333 mhz FSB?  If it does then I feel certain I can upgrade the CPU

 

Thanks

Terry  

Reply
Answer
Options

17 Posts

06-16-2009

Singapore

24 Signins

180 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2009
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 180

Re: Upgrading the K220

2009-06-30, 10:42 AM
Can I just ask what is your brand for your power supply? Tell me the features. Thanks cause I am eager to upgrade my power supply to 350W from 280W
Reply

Replies(2)
Answer
Options

17 Posts

06-16-2009

Singapore

24 Signins

180 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2009
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 180
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Upgrading the K220

2009-06-30, 10:42 AM
Can I just ask what is your brand for your power supply? Tell me the features. Thanks cause I am eager to upgrade my power supply to 350W from 280W

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-29-2009

Houston,TX

3 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-29-2009
  • Location: Houston,TX
  • Views: 37
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Upgrading the K220

2009-06-30, 13:46 PM

I know what you mean.  The 280w that came with it is very basic and will not run a high end video card. 

 

My new power supply is the Rhino Panther 450W ATX Power Supply

Below are the specs according the Frys.  So far it is working great 

 

1x 120mm Fan
Input Voltage: 115/230 V
Output: +3.3V@20A, +5V@26A, +12V@20A,
-12V@0.5A, -5V@0.5A, +5VSB @ 2.0A
Connectors: 20+4 pins main power, 4 pin ATX-12V, 1x SATA, 6x 4 pin Molex, 1x Floppy, 1x PCI-E 6-Pin

 

Also I have upgraded my CPU and it worked perfectly, I put in an E8200 which gives my system a slight bump in power...Therefore I do not need any further assistance or answers to my original question

 

HTH

Terry

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms