Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-28-2009

Las Vegas, NV

6 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2009
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • Views: 33
  • Message 1 of 5

tv trouble

2009-09-28, 0:55 AM

I juist purchased a new k230, and hooked it up to cable. TV reception is very jerky, any way to fix-change settings, or should I just forget i?

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: tv trouble

2009-09-28, 16:11 PM

the quality depends on the coaxial input card, some cheap one produce jerky quality and some high quality one around 1000 dollars produce stellar quality (used for multiple CCTV source capture for HD security cameras). 

 

 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-28-2009

Las Vegas, NV

6 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2009
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • Views: 33
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: tv trouble

2009-09-28, 17:27 PM

It is the card installed by Lenovo, I would think it would be accptable in live tv quality. Is it possibly a setting somewhere?

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: tv trouble

2009-09-29, 4:38 AM

you could try to play around with the settings. Maybe if there is a time shift feature you should switch if off. 

 

But these cards are like that, i use to work for a security camera installation company, the low end card all have these behaviours, as much of the tv image processing are done over the CPU, while the higher end card can do it on the card itself. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-28-2009

Las Vegas, NV

6 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-28-2009
  • Location: Las Vegas, NV
  • Views: 33
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: tv trouble

2009-10-02, 23:07 PM
Ok, my contribution to mankind.
I called Lenovo support, they said "call Microsoft". Ha! Researched on Microsoft site, suggested that I may need something called a "cable card". Called Cox cable, they had one , but all reps on phone were clueless. Ran Vista diagnostics, all software "current". Ran device diagnostics, Haupaugge card "installed and working properly".
KEEP READING
In resolving previous issue with a Canon printer, discovered that Vista "everything is working properly" messages are misleading. On another issue, I had to go to Canon and get the right drivers, yada, yada, yada!
SOLUTION (or, the lightbulb finally came on)
Went to Hauppage website, finally found something called Win7 tv. You will need to download the drivers and the software, then install. All the directions are there.
Now the tv works. Manufactureres should be required to install the software and provide the disc for this kind of stuff! It's lmao funny now, but wasn't 3 days ago!

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms