English Community

Lenovo DesktopsLenovo Desktop Towers
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

09-30-2016

US

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 38
  • Message 1 of 14

K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 13:29 PM

I have a K3 series desktop. It only has one VGA port which I use for the main monitor. I wanted to add another one so I bought a VGA adaptor. When I installed a new monitor I got a screen and I could move sessions to it but the desktop did not recognize the new monitor. I couldn't change the resolution which was so low the text was very big and I couldn't use it that way.

 

Has anyone else had this problem? I used an adaptor that I bought at Best Buy. They told me that the setting needed to be adjusted. I called  Intel and they said that they could not help because it might be a custom setting for Lenovo.  Lenovo support said they do not help with this system any longer.

 

Do you have any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

Thank you

Sandra

 

 

Reply
Options

821 Posts

01-09-2012

GB

2384 Signins

11368 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2012
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 11368
  • Message 2 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 13:39 PM
what gfx card did you get?
are both monitors plugged into the new gfx card?
have you installed the gfx card drivers for your model?
hold windows key on keyboard and press p twice and this should select duplicate monitor (both should look the same) for testing atm
Thx dave

yoga 2, lenovo b540
3 custom gaming pc systems
Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-30-2016

US

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 38
  • Message 3 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 14:33 PM

I bought a NX-PU96203 USB TO VGA Adapter from Best Buy. There was no place to use with multiple monitors. I pluged it into the destop and connected to the monitor with the blue piece.

I installed the software. The desktop never recognized the new monitor.

I did this but it still would not allow me to make adjustment.

hold windows key on keyboard and press p twice and this should select duplicate monitor (both should look the same) for testing atm

Thank you

Reply
Options

821 Posts

01-09-2012

GB

2384 Signins

11368 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2012
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 11368
  • Message 4 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 15:13 PM

what model do you have of the k3 series?


do both monitors work off the pcs vga port?(not the new usb, checking both work)

open device manager and see under monitor and see what it has there are there any triangles with ! in it?

if you have had the usb device working if you right click your desktop and open display settings then click advance display on the right can you change the resolution there?


Thx dave

yoga 2, lenovo b540
3 custom gaming pc systems
Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-30-2016

US

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 38
  • Message 5 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 15:48 PM

I have a E5700   57124616

It only has one vga port. The only way to use another monitor is to use the adaptor for the usb.

I called the adaptor vendor and we tried to update the settings?? and the advanced option but it kept saying the device is not connected.

I could move sessions to the other monitor but moving the mouse from one to the other and back did not work well and the font size was too big for practical use.

I could see the both monitors on the device manager and I changed the settings to shared device but it wouldn't let me access and make any changes on the one with the adaptor.

Reply
Options

821 Posts

01-09-2012

GB

2384 Signins

11368 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2012
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 11368
  • Message 6 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 16:47 PM
It took a little effort installing the driver, but I could get my extra VGA monitor to work after the install. Problem is the screen resolution is only 800x600 (as stated on the box as the max). I didn't realize how bad that resolution is on a 23" monitor until after I installed. So I'm returning and looking for a similar connector that offers better specs - some seem to, based on what I'm seeing online. Wish I had done more research first.

this is a review check the box and see if the res is 800x600 max if it is then thats why the text and icons are big, and the only route i would go is getting a gfx card $30-40 with dvi and vga and buying a dvi to vga connection
Thx dave

yoga 2, lenovo b540
3 custom gaming pc systems
Reply
Options

821 Posts

01-09-2012

GB

2384 Signins

11368 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2012
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 11368
  • Message 7 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 17:02 PM
does your have a hdmi on the back of the pc?
Thx dave

yoga 2, lenovo b540
3 custom gaming pc systems
Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-30-2016

US

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 38
  • Message 8 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-09-30, 17:47 PM
Hi
I don't think so. It has only the VGA and a serial connector 2 rows of pins female
Reply
Options

9 Posts

09-30-2016

US

6 Signins

38 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎09-30-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 38
  • Message 9 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-10-01, 13:14 PM

Hi   I tried to find the gfx card but not sure what that is.

I saw this on Amazon when I searched for gfx. Is this what you suggested?

#1 MSI AMD Radeon R7 240 2GB DDR3 VGA/DVI/HDMI Low Profile PCI-Express Video Card

#2 Plugable USB 3.0 Dual-Head Graphics and Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (HDMI up to 2560x1440 and DVI / VGA 1920x1200.

Thank you

Sandra

 

 

Reply
Options

821 Posts

01-09-2012

GB

2384 Signins

11368 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎01-09-2012
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 11368
  • Message 10 of 14

Re: K3 multiple monitors

2016-10-01, 21:05 PM

gfx will be fine for office work with dual monitor setup

what will you be using your pc for?
https://www.amazon.com/Generic-DVI-I-Dual-Link-15-Pin-Adapter/dp/B01LYDGOJY/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1475355854&sr=1-3&keywords=dvi%2Bto%2Bvga%2Badapter&th=1
dont need a usb with one of these it will allow you to plug both vga into the gfx card

Thx dave

yoga 2, lenovo b540
3 custom gaming pc systems
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete