English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo IdeaPad 1xx, 3xx, 5xx & 7xx, Edge, LaVie Z, Flex Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

01-16-2015

LA

3 Signins

20 Page Views

• Views: 20
  • Message 1 of 4

Battery Puffing on Lenovo ideapad 510-15IKB

2020-07-31, 18:08 PM

I wanted to provide an in-depth report to Lenovo regarding my recent experience with an out-of-warranty Lenovo device...

Lenovo ideapad 510-15IKB
Product number : 80SV005BUS
Bios version : 3JCN31WW

Photos: https://photos.app.goo.gl/KCcJutbcsn2735e77

After coming back to my laptop, I noticed it was booting (it must have restarted / shutdown while I was out). I had left it with several apps open, and working on upgrading a remote server (I'm a web developer/programmer/IT person). I was stunned to see it there booting - as I had not been informed of any Windows update that would reboot my machine. That said, it did not successfully boot, but continued to stay on the rotating dotted circle loading screen with the Lenovo picture. I initially believed it to be a software/operating system update, but then realized something was wrong after it would not boot after several attempts, and BIOS provided no additional information. 

I then removed the hard drive (an SSD I installed a long while back) to see if I could further diagnose the issue. That's when I noticed a strange bulge on the bottom of the case. I had previously noticed some warmth on the right-hand side of the laptop when using graphically intense applications, though the bulge was on the left hand side - which seemed rather strange. Once I exhausted my software troubleshooting options, I got ready to open the case, and see what might be causing the issue. I have a video of the process, and can provide it upon request. This device was only warrantied for 1 year, and I did not choose to renew it (I am in Laos, though I am from the USA).