Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo IdeaPad 1xx, 3xx, 5xx & 7xx, Edge, LaVie Z, Flex Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

02-03-2019

Belgium

1 Signins

31 Page Views

• Views: 31
  • Message 1 of 2

Ideapad 320 15IKB Screen brightness issues

2019-02-03, 10:47 AM

I've been having a lot of problems with my ideapad lately. There's a series of events of which I can't pinpoint the cause. It all started a few months ago when the screen went dark while I wasn't doing anything in particular. Holding a flashlight to it revealed that my laptop was indeed still on and could still be used, even though the screen was dark. This happened bout 3 times in 2 days (I'm a student, so my laptop is on a lot of the time). Back then, I updated some drivers which resolved the issue, or so I thought.

About a month ago, it happened again. And since then, it's gotten both weirder and worse. My screen has gone completely dark like before, but it has also simply gone slightly dim, disabling me from turning the brightness up again, like when your battery hits 20%. Needless to say, my battery wasn't nearly empty at all, it had like 80% left. This effect didn't go away when I charged it, and could only be resolved by rebooting it.

Other things happened as it got worse: sometimes the laptop's screen would randomly go dark for several seconds, and would then just shut down. It would only reboot when charged, but after that it seemed fine again. This happened about 3 times in one week, again while I wasn't doing anything in partcular.

After that, it became even worse. The battery wouldn't charge anymore at all. It just stayed around 85%. At that point, I had finals coming up so I kept it 'charging' 24/7, scared that if I used it when it wasn't plugged in, it might die and never reboot again.