English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo IdeaPad 1xx, 3xx, 5xx & 7xx, Edge, LaVie Z, Flex Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

45 Posts

10-12-2018

IT

90 Signins

948 Page Views

  • Posts: 45
  • Registered: ‎10-12-2018
  • Location: IT
  • Views: 948
  • Message 101 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-12, 23:01 PM
Cinebench peak score mainly depends from the test conditions, aka software running in background, drivers and system/bios settings.
The big gain of raising the STAPM limit is on the tasks longer than 2 minutes.

Using the old Lenovo Energy Manager for Windows 8.1 i was able to hit 646 CB at first and around 480-470 CB after several runs.
I'm curious to see what happens with this DSDT workaround... Meanwhile, kudos to @JustSkill for sharing it.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-13-2018

IN

1 Signins

15 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2018
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 15
  • Message 102 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 8:17 AM
Did you change the brightness after booting into Windows?
BTW It worked for me!!
Reply
Options

22 Posts

11-04-2018

GR

455 Signins

1886 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎11-04-2018
  • Location: GR
  • Views: 1886
  • Message 103 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 8:26 AM

Hi Guys.
I congratulate you for your effort to correct the errors of Lenovo.
I tried to apply the guide but I failed.
I was not able to export the system settings to the usb drive, when the machine was in the clover menu.
F4 never worked on the 330S-15ARR.
I will wait for another solution.

Reply
Options

27 Posts

11-30-2018

GB

53 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 374
  • Message 104 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 9:50 AM

Thanks for typing up the steps, sadly I can't seem to get the DSDT.aml off Clover. Whenever I hit F4 nothing happens.

 

Do you mind telling me what version of Clover you used and how you got it on the USB? Just in case I did something wrong.

(The USB is formatted in Fat32)

Reply
Options

31 Posts

11-26-2018

GB

60 Signins

351 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 351
  • Message 105 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 10:29 AM

For me, pressing F4 in Clover seemingly did nothing as there is no confirmation message displayed, but the files do get written to the drive.  You may need to try both F4 and FN+F4 depending on your BIOS settings and leave it a few minutes before restarting to ensure the files are fully written. 

Reply
Options

27 Posts

11-30-2018

GB

53 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 374
  • Message 106 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 10:54 AM
I managed to get it working, I think it was actually because I manually made the file path for the .aml file. Before I did that the USB wasn't even showing an activity light when I hit F4.

Anyway I'm in the DSDT.aml file now. Your steps said you changed the 0x55F0 value to 0x61A8. I'm seeing two 0x55F0 values next to each other here. Am I meant to change both?
https://puu.sh/CgWPD/03290a9386.png
Reply
Options

22 Posts

11-04-2018

GR

455 Signins

1886 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎11-04-2018
  • Location: GR
  • Views: 1886
  • Message 107 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 11:03 AM
Dear Karlos, you said ".... I manually made the file path for the .aml file....Before I did that the USB wasn't even showing an activity light when I hit F4...."
How did you that???
Reply
Options

31 Posts

11-26-2018

GB

60 Signins

351 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 351
  • Message 108 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 11:07 AM

I think the section that you're looking at is for the STAPM values when running off battery.  There are a whole range of different values in this section as the device seems to dynamically adjust the STAPM in small increments in real time when running on battery.  I left all these as they are.  Instead I added the following code under the _PSR method as described at https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/a2vs55/i_successfully_disabled_stapm_and_increased_the/eb7xngs/

 

Name(UTDP, Buffer(0x08){})
CreateWordField(UTDP, Zero, M254)
CreateByteField(UTDP,0x02,M255)
CreateDWordField(UTDP, 0x03, M256)
Store(0x07, M254)
Store(0x05, M255)
Store(0x55F0, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)
Store(0x06, M255)
Store(0x7530, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)
Store(0x07, M255)
Store(0x61A8, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)

 

It is the 0x55F0 that I changed to 0x61A8 to get the 25W limit when running on mains power.  Perhaps some further investigation would reveal where to change the values for mains are on the original 330S DSDT, but after a couple of hours of no luck, the only way I could get it to work on mains power was adding the above code.

 

 

Reply
Options

27 Posts

11-30-2018

GB

53 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 374
  • Message 109 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 11:20 AM

I just went into an EFI/CLOVER folder and manually made the ACPI\origin folders within that one.

Reply
Options

27 Posts

11-30-2018

GB

53 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎11-30-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 374
  • Message 110 of 254

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

2018-12-13, 11:37 AM

Ah ok, sorry I misunderstood. I thought we just had to edit the value, not add the new code from the reddit thread.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete