07-23-2019

US

37 Signins

352 Page Views

• Views: 352
  • Message 1 of 4

Missing RAM After Repair

2020-06-30, 19:25 PM

I sent my laptop in to get a webcam repair and when I got it back I only have 4GB of RAM instead of 8GB! I called Lenovo tech support and they said that I was mistaken, my IdeaPad FLEX 14-IWL only comes with 4GB of RAM. I looked at my order (from Costco) and they list the laptop as having 8GB of RAM. Every other website I looked at says that this laptop has 8GB of RAM. Except for Lenovo. It says 4GB. I KNOW that before I sent it in that my laptop had 8GB of usable RAM. When I sent it in again so they could look at the RAM complaint all that they did was factory reset my laptop and send it back. I still only have 4GB of RAM. They replaced the motherboard the first time so I am assuming that that is why there is only 4GB now. But I am very frustrated and confused and now my laptop can only run a couple of programs at a time. Which is not helpful as I am a student and often have several programs running at once while I am studying. Has this happened to anyone else? Any tips? 

I am running Windows 10 64-bit.

Options

3648 Posts

12-11-2015

US

4303 Signins

48262 Page Views

• Views: 48262
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:Missing RAM After Repair

2020-06-30, 22:55 PM

If you have your receipt/order from Costco stating that it came with 8GB, then that alone should be enough to escalate the matter to Lenovo, but you can also go to https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/, enter your laptop's serial number, then click on the link for Parts and view/export the As-Built parts list to see what your laptop came with when it was new,

I truth I am not sure that it is worth the frustration and cost  of sending it back to them again vs. just pending $20 bucks on a 4GB of RAM.

Best of luck, 

Options

11146 Posts

11-30-2015

PH

6970 Signins

737679 Page Views

• Views: 737679
  • Message 3 of 4

2020-07-01, 14:33 PM

Hi indyjones567,

Welcome to the Community Forums.