cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
JLopezC
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2017
Location: US
Views: 4,465
Message 1 of 6

Audio input detected as output

I'm trying to record audio from a device by using a 3.5mm cable to connect its output to the (only) audio jack on my laptop, because that's supposed to work. However, Realtek drivers still can't correctly sort audio devices. It doesn't see the device as an audio input. Since it shows any output as internal speakers, I have no way to tell. I set it to separate all audio devices, but that only seems to affect the microphone section.

 

Is there a way to make it pick up the audio as an input? My Realtek driver seems to be less cooperative than others, but there must be something I can do.

 

Device: Flex 3-1580 (trying to get audio from a 3DS)

OS: Windows 10, latest update

Driver: Realtek, update 6.0.1.8117 (latest Windows could find)

Highlighted
Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 5,523
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
Location: US
Views: 4,437
Message 2 of 6

Re: Audio input detected as output

Good day.

 

I presume your audio jack is combo jack.

You probably need a splitter, similar to what's described in this KB article:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Displays-Options-and-Accessories/Microphone-Headset-Jack-splitter-neede...
Then, you should be able to plug your output device into the MIC IN connector.

 

Hope this helps a bit.

Regards.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

JLopezC
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2017
Location: US
Views: 4,400
Message 3 of 6

Re: Audio input detected as output

Yeah, that seems to be the only way.
gokhunt
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2019
Location: CA
Views: 576
Message 4 of 6

Re: Audio input detected as output

I bought the speaker/microphone splitter 3.5cm adapter. I connected my audio device's output to the microphone input as a line in source. But, Lenovo X1 Carbon /Windows settings do not see any alternative input other than the internal mic. So, I could not make it work. I would appreciate any comments and suggestions. Goke
JLopezC
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-14-2017
Location: US
Views: 553
Message 5 of 6

Re: Audio input detected as output

Open "Realtek HD Audio Manager" (it should be an orange taskbar icon) and click "Device advanced settings." Select the second option. Now, the internal mic should be "microphone array," and there should be another input with a different name.

Benji96
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,211
Registered: ‎06-19-2019
Location: DE
Views: 533
Message 6 of 6

Re: Audio input detected as output

This is an option on desktop devices or older laptops, newer Lenovo laptops have this cut-down Realtek Audio settings that is just a part of the Windows Settings, so you would need a splitter as you cannot configure the port at all in the settings. The Realtek Audio manager you are looking for just does not exist on newer Lenovo laptops.

Did I/anybody else help you? Give a Kudo!
Did a post solve your problem? Set the post as solution!

Lenovo Yoga 530-14ARR (81H9003VGE)

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors