cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Kaungie
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2016
Location: United States
Views: 8,132
Message 1 of 13

Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

I was looking in upgrading the ram on this latop from 8GB to 16GB. I checked on crucial and it said the manufacturer supported memory was 8GB. But has there been any update to the bios to support 16GB yet? I want to upgrade the RAM as it is easy to do but was wondering if it is without any danger to the laptop itself.
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 8,715
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 8,120
Message 2 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Hi Kaungie ,

 

 

Welcome to the Community Forums. 

 

Do you have the Machine number of your pc to check on specific details?

Would that be Flex 3-1570 or a Flex 3-1580 ?

 

Anyways , checking further on the hardware manual and products sheet for both , showing Max 8GB x 1 slot . 

Checked on version of BIOS and no particular change on RAM caps but instead for other fixes only.

 

Memory :  8GB max / PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3L, one 204-pin SO-DIMM socket

 

I would not suggest you purchase a 16 GB just to try but if you have a spare , no particular harm .

It would just either beep and and not proceed to power on self test (POST) or it would detect it.

No guarantee thou but if you have a compatible spare or have a local tech /IT to test it.

 

It is worth a try ,in some models (Z series) worked fine since the CPU can handle more.

 

Regards

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

kjh3bears
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-19-2016
Location: Rochester, NY
Views: 8,017
Message 3 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

I also have a Flex 3-1570 with 4GB. I have another 4GB module from Crucial but how can I install it? Don't want to void the warranty but need to speed up the system (it's a tortoise at this point). If I take out all of the screws on the back cover can I access the memory slots? The model name for this one is 80JM. Thanks for any help at all!

theFLASH12
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-19-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,926
Message 4 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Hello,

 

Wondering if this has been tried yet.  Spidey101 had a reccomendation to try it out, but I've not seen if someone has successfully installed 16GB RAM and with improved results.   Please chime in someone .............??

 

Here's the 16GB RAM I'd like to upgrade my Flex3 15" with if possible:    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Single-PC3L-12800-SODIMM-CT204864BF160B/dp/B0123BRIDK?ie=UTF8&psc=1&re...

 

Mod's Comment: your posting asking the same question as cited here has been removed.  Splitting the discussion into multiple threads only confuses or frustrates those responding.  Please update your original post with any additional questions or comments.  Thanks!

 

WiCheSTeRY2K
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,778
Message 5 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Iordered a 16gb sodim once I receive it and test it on my flex 3 1580 I'll update you guys!

sharan41
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-06-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,671
Message 6 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Hi Kaungie ,

Can u pls update the status ......
Is your Flex 3 upgraded to 16GB . Did u encounter any problems doing so ?
Kaungie
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-03-2016
Location: United States
Views: 7,668
Message 7 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Sorry my laptop broke slightly before I was able to do any ram upgrades, but either way I found it hard to find one chip that had 16 GB of ram.

WiCheSTeRY2K
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-12-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,661
Message 8 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

sorry to inform you guys but the bios doesn't support the 16gb... your best bet is to upgrade to a Gskill 8gb  ripjaws stick with 9 cas instead of the 11 cas!

spoonhonda
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Location: US
Views: 6,702
Message 9 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

We should be able to upgrade to 16GB now after updating to the latest BIOS version D3CN35WW released on 11/14/2016.  

 

I have not tested it yet but I just talked with a tech support guy at Adamanta Memory after seeing thier Amazon listing for a 1x16GB RAM module.    Here's the link.   Adamanta 16GB (1x16GB) Laptop Memory Upgrade for Lenovo Flex 3 DDR3L 1600Mhz PC3L-12800 SODIMM 2Rx8 ...

 

I gave the tech support guy my model number and the new BIOS version and he said that it will in fact work.  I don't have the cash just yet to upgrade and test it out but maybe someone else can do it sooner and respond here with verification.   

 

My computers specs are:

Lenovo Flex 3-1580 with a i7-6500U @ 2.5GHz 

Serial Number: ********

Machine Type: 80R40007US

 

FYI- I couldn't boot up after the updating my BIOS to version D3CN35WW.  Turn out that I had to change the settings in BIOS to boot using Legacy Mode instead of  UEFI Mode.  Use a paperclip to push and hold the internal button in the little hole next to the power button to get the option to enter the BIOS menu.

 

Moderator note: serial number removed for member's protection.

symmglsereen
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2017
Location: US
Views: 5,756
Message 10 of 13

Re: Flex 3 15" ram upgrade

Where did you find information about that BIOS update supporting 16GB of RAM? I couldn't find it anywhere in the release notes unless I'm missing something. I would like to perform this upgrade but would like a little more evidence that it could possibly work.

Thanks!

(ps my model is the Lenovo Flex 3 - 1480)

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors