cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Baltyre
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2018
Location: FR
Views: 2,884
Message 91 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

It's working well for me but i had to do it myself from my extracted dsdt.

Now i wonder if i can install clover on harddrive.

The other option, that's working is to use testmode, until i found a flow runing on test mode, i will use that :

So :

Install this : 
https://acpica.org/sites/acpica/files/iasl-win-20161222.zip, extract on c:\dsdt

https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/p/?LinkId=526733 

 

Run on cmd as admin :

mkdir c:\dsdt
c: & cd \dsdt
set 64bit_OS_asl="C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Tools\x64\ACPIVerify\asl.exe"
set 32bit_OS_asl="C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Tools\x86\ACPIVerify\asl.exe"
copy /y %32bit_OS_asl% c:\dsdt > nul & copy /y %64bit_OS_asl% c:\dsdt > nul
if not exist c:\dsdt\asl.exe echo ERROR: Failed to copy asl.exe to c:\dsdt

If someone did the job for you and you have the dtdt aml file, you can load it with :

c: & cd \dsdt
asl /loadtable dsdt-modified.aml  
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON

And use this app to remove the 'testmode watermark' on Windows : https://winaero.com/download.php?view.1794

 

green_dragon
Vacuum Tubes
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-04-2018
Location: GR
Views: 2,891
Message 92 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

I am very glad for your success.
A am a noble, so I am looking for a guide describe step by step the procedure for my own 330s-15ARR.
If any of you has this opportunity, it will be wonderful!
thanks.

Baltyre
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2018
Location: FR
Views: 2,880
Message 93 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

That's my file for 25W, no garantie use it at your own risk.
I have the 330-15ARR

 

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AvC7jGRR_P7FgXzB5PLuXIln62Tk

 

Install asl :

https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/p/?LinkId=526733

Put the dsdt file in c:\dsdt

 

Execute :

mkdir c:\dsdt
c: & cd \dsdt
set 64bit_OS_asl="C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Tools\x64\ACPIVerify\asl.exe"
set 32bit_OS_asl="C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Tools\x86\ACPIVerify\asl.exe"
copy /y %32bit_OS_asl% c:\dsdt > nul & copy /y %64bit_OS_asl% c:\dsdt > nul
if not exist c:\dsdt\asl.exe echo ERROR: Failed to copy asl.exe to c:\dsdt
asl /loadtable dsdt.25.aml
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON

 

And you're all set.

 

-----------------------------

And for the one who want to do the file themself or increase the stapm value :

 

And the decompiled version :

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AvC7jGRR_P7FgX2BGPlzRDBRjI38

 

I used mostly this guide to set this up : 

https://egpu.io/forums/pc-setup/fix-dsdt-override-to-correct-error-12/?mode=grid

 

And i added under  Method(_PSR, 0x0, NotSerialized)  :
Name(UTDP, Buffer(0x08){})
CreateWordField(UTDP, Zero, M254)
CreateByteField(UTDP,0x02,M255)
CreateDWordField(UTDP, 0x03, M256)
Store(0x07, M254)
Store(0x05, M255)
Store(0x61A8, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)
Store(0x06, M255)
Store(0x7530, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)
Store(0x07, M255)
Store(0x61A8, M256)
ALIB(0x0C, UTDP)

 

Since the dstd is for microsoft compiler and i use the intel one, it does not compil right away, so there is a few error to fix.

I really don't know what i'm doing, so i fixed the best i could, but i don't know if i made mistake.

 

MisterFlibble
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-26-2018
Location: GB
Views: 2,879
Message 94 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

I wouldn't treat this as a guide, as I don't fully understand myself, but this is what I did in order to increase the limit to 25W on my 330S

 

1) Install Clover bootloader to an empty USB key  (https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/)

2) Install AMD uProf to test the outcome (https://developer.amd.com/amd-uprof/)

3) Enter the bios on your machine and move USB FDD to the top in the Boot Priority order section and disable Secure Boot from the security tab

4) Boot into Clover from the USB drive

5) Once in the clover menu, press F4 to export your machine's current settings to the USB drive (this takes a few moments).

6) There should now be a file on the USB drive /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/origin/DSDT.aml  This will need to be decompiled and edited (I used MaciASL)

7) This step is where it varies between machines.  I found that searching for the _PSR method and adding the code described here worked for me. https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/a2vs55/i_successfully_disabled_stapm_and_increased_the/eb7xngs...

The value 0x55F0 = 22W.  I changed it to 0x61A8 which is 25W. 

8) Recompile and save the DSDT.aml file under /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/WINDOWS/DSDT.aml

8a) Delete the origin folder (Not sure if this is strictly necessary?)

9) Boot from the USB and at the clover boot menu press enter to start windows.  If all is well, Windows should start.

10) Launch AMD uProf and select "See what's guzzling power in your system".  Select the controllers tab and tick the 4 options under Controllers Counter Selection.  You may also want to tick the 2 options under Power.  Click start profile.  You should see the STAPM graph and critically the Socket0 STAPM limit should now read 25W instead of 15W. 

11) For further verification you can run Cinebench CPU test a few times and observe the throttling to 15W behaviour is now gone.

 

There does already seem to be some STAPM code in the 330S DSDT, with a big section of if / elses that set various limits.  As far as I can work out, this section is what determines that dynamically adjusting STAPM values when running on battery and for me changing any of these values had no effect when running plugged in, only when powered by battery. 

 

So it seems that the 330S is a little more complicated than other laptops, but the above steps worked for me on mains power, and I left the settings the same for battery as battery life is already very short on the 330S without increasing the power consumption.

 

Thanks to the guys over on Reddit and this forum for their hard work on discovering all of this.  Such a simple fix turns this laptop into one that performs surprisingly well.

 

 

Baltyre
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-10-2018
Location: FR
Views: 2,845
Message 95 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

For my 330-15ARR with stapm at 25W i got this :

(I replaced the slow harddrive with an ssd and added 8 Go ram)

 

No idea if it's perform better than without it, not tested enough.

My usecase is mostly work not really game, so it will be probably more than enought for me.

 

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/31194229?

 

image.png

stackerlon
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎12-06-2018
Location: IN
Views: 2,840
Message 96 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

I always get 34-37fps even with 15W Stpam limit but cpu goes down to 500cb from 592 cb the next time then to 460 third time

MisterFlibble
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-26-2018
Location: GB
Views: 2,834
Message 97 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

around 600 is exactly the as what I get, but most importantly with the STAPM fix, subsequent runs of cinebench are also around the same value. previously 2nd, 3rd runs would drop below 400.

 

Lenovo are shooting themselves in the foot with this, because such a simple change makes this laptop perform SOOOOO much better.  Surprised they haven't sorted this officially.

Longhorn87
SCSI Port
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎10-12-2018
Location: IT
Views: 2,770
Message 98 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

Cinebench peak score mainly depends from the test conditions, aka software running in background, drivers and system/bios settings.
The big gain of raising the STAPM limit is on the tasks longer than 2 minutes.

Using the old Lenovo Energy Manager for Windows 8.1 i was able to hit 646 CB at first and around 480-470 CB after several runs.
I'm curious to see what happens with this DSDT workaround... Meanwhile, kudos to @JustSkill for sharing it.
deathCoder
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-13-2018
Location: IN
Views: 2,728
Message 99 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

Did you change the brightness after booting into Windows?
BTW It worked for me!!
green_dragon
Vacuum Tubes
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-04-2018
Location: GR
Views: 2,723
Message 100 of 204

Re: Ideapad 330 Ryzen 5 2500u underperforming

Hi Guys.
I congratulate you for your effort to correct the errors of Lenovo.
I tried to apply the guide but I failed.
I was not able to export the system settings to the usb drive, when the machine was in the clover menu.
F4 never worked on the 330S-15ARR.
I will wait for another solution.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors