cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Bacho13
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-16-2018
Location: GE
Views: 380
Message 1 of 9

LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Hi i have ideapad 310-15IKB with i7 7500U 8 gb ram (since today Smiley Very Happy ) today i find out that my half of ram (4GB) is lost can anoybody halp me. I really need my half part Smiley LOL

1.PNG

 

2.PNG

 

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎08-02-2018
Location: PH
Views: 346
Message 2 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Hi Bacho13!

 

Thanks for posting in our community. Could you please provide us the machine type so we can verify the memory installed? 

Image



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Bacho13
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-16-2018
Location: GE
Views: 339
Message 3 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Image removed

 

 

Mod's Edit: Image removed for the owner's protection as it showed the serial number of the system. Please edit out the serial number if you wish to re-post the image. Thanks!

 

MTM: 80TV00RXRA

 

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎08-02-2018
Location: PH
Views: 334
Message 4 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Thanks. Could you please install Lenovo Vantage https://lnv.gy/2QWZhP3 then run full hardware scan. Let me know if there are failure in the results. Thanks. Arjay_Lenovo

 

 

Mod's Edit: for transparency, shortened link was converted to full URL......

 

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/lenovo-vantage/9wzdncrfj4mv?linkId=58323615#activetab=pivotSmiley Surprisedverview...



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Bacho13
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-16-2018
Location: GE
Views: 325
Message 5 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

only two failure... So the laptop has 2 ram 2x4 gb(8GB). onboard ram and one removable..  i was using the 8gb but now it shows only 4GB now...... take out removable ram and turn on.. it says 4GB again..then turn off insert  4GB ram back again, turn on laptop and shows

only 4GB Smiley Sad

 

 

 

Capture.JPG

Bacho13
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-16-2018
Location: GE
Views: 292
Message 6 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

on the second try it shows that everything is fine but it also shows 4GB RAM Smiley FrustratedCapture.JPG 

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎08-02-2018
Location: PH
Views: 291
Message 7 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Thanks. Let us verify if the bios is showing up 8GB or 4GB. Please go to bios https://lnv.gy/2R34pRT update us thanks. 

Image

 

 

Mod's Edit: for transparency, shortened link was converted to full URL.........

 

https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/HT500216?Source=social_eservices&Medium=LITHIUM&Term=eSer...



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Bacho13
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-16-2018
Location: GE
Views: 282
Message 8 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

I have already checked and unfortunately its showing 4 gb  :/ 

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎09-06-2018
Location: PH
Views: 261
Message 9 of 9

Re: LOST 1 SLOT RAM

Hello Bacho13!

Was the 8GB RAM detected before? If so, try resetting BIOS settings to default : https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/ht500216. Unplug replug again, make sure it is inserted properly. 

RAM is one of the most essential parts of your desktop computer, and it’s supposed to be one of the quickest and easiest parts to upgrade. Can you tell us the specifications of the 8GB RAM? Compatibility could be the issue here but if it worked before then there could be a problem with the physical components itself, that means you need to have a local tech take a look at it to diagnose the  hardware. 

 

Here is the Ideapad 310 Hardware Maintenance Manual that you can utilize to check a list of RAM compatible for your machine, some may not be listed in their but what you can do is compare the specifications: https://download.lenovo.com/consumer/mobiles_pub/ideapad_310-14ikb_310-15ikb_310touch-15ikb_hmm_2016...



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors