cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SDD-SG
Serial Port
Views: 11,069
Message 1 of 13

Lenovo Ideapad 710s user experience (not a review!)

A quick note to say I am not a professional reviewer, at most an advanced user. I got quite a few PM’s on the product and thought will share my experience. My Config: i5, 1.8 GHZ, 8GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, Windows 10 64 bit, Home edition. Usable SSD: 190GB (Lenovo uses a 20GB partition for recovery and rest is used by Windows). I would rate this machine 8.0/10 - if they fixed the touch pad and paint it would be 9/10 in my books. 

Best features:

Weight :  Felt lighter and smaller than Macbook air 13: my rating 8.5/10

Price / Performance: loads Photoshop CC loads in 5 secs : 9/10

Battery : whole day out with normal work of 4/5 hours and presentations 8/10

Charging time: 15% to 60% in 50 mins, while continuing to work on the PC:  8/10

Design: Simple approach, thin Bezel, nonslip rubber grip under the chassis: 7/10

Call centre: waiting time and attitude: 8/10

Great form factor: I am leaving my tablet home:  9/10

Ports: 2 USB and 1 thunderbolt port (I bought  a $ 3 thunderbolt to HMDI adapter for presentations) : 9/10.

Spacebar scroll: pressing the pressbar will scroll the page (down only).

Warranty: 2 years compared to Mac or Dell’s 1 year (can vary by geography) 9/10

Needs improvements:

Sound: My Samsung headset from S5, sounds full of bass and body, when plugged in. PC speakers are a bit weak considering how thin it is. 6.5/10

Touch pad accuracy and feel : Gold standard is Macbook. In this PC its sticky and you have to learn the right amount of pressure - especially while three finger scrolling 4/10

Mouse click:  deep travel and stiff – 5/10

Enter key does not work to bring up log in screen – you got to press the mouse click when the screen is locked.

No close fitting case / pouch available as the size is odd – between 12” and 13”