cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
sn0zb0z
Serial Port
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2014
Location: UK
Views: 2,105
Message 1 of 17

Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

Hi. I have just bought the Flex 15. I looked at the power settings and set the brightness, but it is ignoring the settings and always either darker or brighter than I want it. It keeps flickering between being darker and brighter and it's giving me a headache. It is unplugged if that makes a difference, I haven't used it plugged in yet to know if it does it then. How can I stop it? I've looked through the settings and can't find anything. Thanks.

sn0zb0z
Serial Port
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2014
Location: UK
Views: 2,088
Message 2 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

I found an option to turn off automatic brightness so I turned that off, but it is still constantly changing the brightness. What do I need to do to stop it?

DanSolo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-23-2014
Location: Ireland
Views: 2,081
Message 3 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

I think you need to turn it off in more than one setting menu as far as I remember.

sn0zb0z
Serial Port
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2014
Location: UK
Views: 2,076
Message 4 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

Thanks. Any idea what other menu as I can't find any other settings on it?
DanSolo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-23-2014
Location: Ireland
Views: 2,071
Message 5 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

I think I had to turn it off both in the power management and in the graphics settings. Right click on the desktop and it's under the screen settings somewhere.

DanSolo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-23-2014
Location: Ireland
Views: 2,068
Message 6 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

Apologies, but I don't have it in front of me. I had to send it for a touchpad repair.
sn0zb0z
Serial Port
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2014
Location: UK
Views: 2,058
Message 7 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

That's alright. Under Power Management I don't appear to have anything to do with automatic brightness, just the ability to set the brightness to what I want which it's ignoring and power saving settings. I don't have anything that says graphics.

DanSolo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-23-2014
Location: Ireland
Views: 2,054
Message 8 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

I think it's in the Advanced Settings for your power plan?

DanSolo
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎04-23-2014
Location: Ireland
Views: 2,053
Message 9 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

Which adaptive brightness did you manage to turn off? If you right click the desktop there should be an Intel or something tab and you click that and the screen setting are in there.

sn0zb0z
Serial Port
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-21-2014
Location: UK
Views: 2,049
Message 10 of 17

Re: Screen keeps changing brightness (Flex 15)

Thanks Smiley Happy I right clicked on the desktop and went to the AMD catalyst control centre. I clicked power play on there and it says enable vari-bright so I unchecked that and I think that may have solved it. I'm hoping so anyway lol.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors