English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks Knowledge Base

Upgraded Windows version reverted to original after factory reset

Question

I recently reset my Y530 (4051-2QU) to factory default .  I purchased this machine with an upgraded version of Windows.  After the reset the basic version, not the upgraded version, is now the Windows operating system

 

What happened to my upgrade?  Is it still recoverable?  

Answer

The Lenovo Y530 (4051-2QU) is preloaded with Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit as listed in this pdf data sheet.

 

If the system was upgraded this was done so with a product key using Windows Anytime Upgrade, which allows users to jump from Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit to Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit.

 

A factory reset causes a system to revert to the original state in which it was shipped.

 

To recover the upgraded OS (i.e. Windows Vista Ultimate), you must have the product key and upgrade disc. If you don't have an upgrade disc, you can create your own bootable ISO image using this website, run an upgrade and use your product key to activate Windows.

Was this information helpful?

Yes No

Comments

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Delete