English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

14 Posts

11-02-2013

25 Signins

156 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2013
  • Location:
  • Views: 156
  • Message 131 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-03, 12:11 PM
I know, it's very strange. I hope they will release another version of BIOS and fix this little update. If not, any ideas of how can I donwgrade to the previous version?
Reply
Options

28 Posts

03-03-2013

Russia

61 Signins

388 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎03-03-2013
  • Location: Russia
  • Views: 388
  • Message 132 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-03, 18:34 PM
I would try to load the default settings in BIOS setup, and then set a hotkey mode to disable.
Reply
Options

14 Posts

11-02-2013

25 Signins

156 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2013
  • Location:
  • Views: 156
  • Message 133 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-03, 20:17 PM
Same. Not working...
Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-05-2013

India

4 Signins

22 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-05-2013
  • Location: India
  • Views: 22
  • Message 134 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-05, 18:58 PM

Finally Lenovo has resolved this with a new BIOS update for Z500, You can download the BIOS update from the below link

 

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS035727

 

Summary of changes
==================
General Information:

71CN51WW
1.	Add ¡±Hotkey¡± mode function
2.	Fix the issue ¡±PrtSc key no function on BZ K/B¡±

 

However,

 

I found that  i had to downgrade my display driver after this BIOS upgrade as the brightness controls were not working

 

Hope this ends the frustration we all had

Reply
Options

14 Posts

11-02-2013

25 Signins

156 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2013
  • Location:
  • Views: 156
  • Message 135 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-05, 19:25 PM

For me it's still not working. If i want to use the function keys I need to press Fn. F1 is working like F1, same for F2...F12. I tried with hotkeys disabled from bios and enabled. What should I do?

Reply
Options

2192 Posts

05-02-2008

MY

14693 Signins

219550 Page Views

  • Posts: 2192
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2008
  • Location: MY
  • Views: 219550
  • Message 136 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-06, 8:37 AM
Hi,

I have z400 Touch and Z500 with me and successfully installed the BIOS and able to enable or disable the hotkey swap in BIOS. Both machines are using Win 8 anyway, will get it updated to Win 8.1.

It would be nice if you tell your machine OS, also, try re-install the BIOS again ?

Regards,
Cleo


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Reply
Options

8 Posts

08-19-2013

Poland

8 Signins

59 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎08-19-2013
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 59
  • Message 137 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-06, 8:56 AM
Hello Cleo.
Thanks for trying to help :)

Got Z500, and Windows 8.1 on board. I tried re-install BIOS again, but the installer said I have the same version and it's not installing.

It's weird, cause it was working for 2 days... And i dont think its a OS fault, cause in BIOS i also need to press FN + Key for F5,F6 keys etc.

Reply
Options

28 Posts

03-03-2013

Russia

61 Signins

388 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎03-03-2013
  • Location: Russia
  • Views: 388
  • Message 138 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-06, 9:09 AM
Cleo_Lenovo, how did you were able to guess at once how to make the correct functioning of the buttons Home, End, PgUp and PgDn? Straight surprising even ))
Reply
Options

14 Posts

11-02-2013

25 Signins

156 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎11-02-2013
  • Location:
  • Views: 156
  • Message 139 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-06, 14:25 PM
I re-installed the BIOS two times and it's the same. When I installed for the first time, I was using win 8 and it was not working. Now I'm using win 8.1 and I just re-installed the BIOS update and it's still not working. Don't know what to do...
Reply
Options

28 Posts

03-03-2013

Russia

61 Signins

388 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎03-03-2013
  • Location: Russia
  • Views: 388
  • Message 140 of 168

Re: Function keys on the z500

2013-11-06, 14:58 PM
What value is assigned to the 'BIOS back flash' in BIOS setup?
Maybe it matter? In my laptop it is in the "disable"
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete