English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

01-27-2011

New York City

46 Signins

161 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2011
  • Location: New York City
  • Views: 161
  • Message 41 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-10, 17:02 PM

 


wrote:
what is your boot time from button push to desktop?

 

 

21.5 seconds. (I have more than a few things in startup)

 

Windows has started up:
     Boot Duration        :    21554ms
     IsDegradation        :    false

Reply
Options

36 Posts

12-07-2010

United States of America

818 Signins

1684 Page Views

  • Posts: 36
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1684
  • Message 42 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-10, 23:26 PM

21.5 seconds is very good. Is that from start button to first screen with icons or is it the complete load with wvweything loaded?

CliffordS

Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-27-2011

New York City

46 Signins

161 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2011
  • Location: New York City
  • Views: 161
  • Message 43 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-10, 23:34 PM

 


wrote:

21.5 seconds is very good. Is that from start button to first screen with icons or is it the complete load with wvweything loaded?

CliffordS


 

That time is from the Windows performance logs.

 

The timer starts at the POST screen, because that is the first time the boot device engages. With an SSD there is no time difference from login screen to actually logged in. It's as fast as you can type, or no login screen at all. Once that first screen is up, it's good to go...

Reply
Options

17 Posts

01-30-2011

SoCal

49 Signins

234 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2011
  • Location: SoCal
  • Views: 234
  • Message 44 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-12, 23:36 PM

actually, I have 2 mSata cards.  one is generic the other is samsung.  both are msata and both are 64gb.  the bios only recognizes the samsung one but not the generic one even though both have a sata controller built in.  so, I've only the explanation based on other posts that a whitelist for these devices exist.  Also, I have no reason so far to think that any standard sata SSD drive has been excluded, just the mini-pcie form factor msata cards.

 

 

Reply
Options

17 Posts

01-30-2011

SoCal

49 Signins

234 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎01-30-2011
  • Location: SoCal
  • Views: 234
  • Message 45 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-12, 23:45 PM

is that time including the bios too?  my index scores are:

 

cpu                    7.1

memory            7.4

graphics           6.7

3d graph           6.7

hdd(with ssd)  5.9

 

with rapiddrive installed on a factory restore I still get about 30 secs to boot from power on to desktop.

 

upgrading my ram from 4gb 800MHz to 8gb 1033MHz changed my memory score from 5.9 to 7.4.

 

I can get 6.8 on the hdd speed if I keep the ssd and the hdd separate and do not install rapiddrive drivers but I thought improving the hdd speed transparently was the whole point of rapiddrive.  I get a score of 5.9 even without the ssd installed.  I even made sure to align the ssd and tried ssd tweaker but still no joy on getting closer to the 15 second boot time as advertised or improving the hdd index score...

 

any ideas would be appreciated. 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-27-2011

New York City

46 Signins

161 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2011
  • Location: New York City
  • Views: 161
  • Message 46 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-13, 0:11 AM

 


I can get 6.8 on the hdd speed if I keep the ssd and the hdd separate and do not install rapiddrive drivers but I thought improving the hdd speed transparently was the whole point of rapiddrive.  I get a score of 5.9 even without the ssd installed.  I even made sure to align the ssd and tried ssd tweaker but still no joy on getting closer to the 15 second boot time as advertised or improving the hdd index score...

 

any ideas would be appreciated. 


You have to use something like CrystalDiskMark for true readings. Who knows what MS is using to calculate (most likely includes size which doesn't affect performance).
Rapiddrive excels at taking a small ssd and combining it with a large hdd. This basically gives it a cache and if it uses an intelligent algorithm (which I hear it does) then even better. However, if you have an SSD large enough to run on it's own, then that is definitely the best method. Even 32gb might be enough depending on what you do. I think i used like 40gb after installing the OS all my utils, the entire Adobe CS5 package etc etc...
Being able to choose what you install on which drive is great because you can prioritize. I don't care what speed my 500gb of media files run at, and even most of my game are installed on the HDD because after load up, it doesn't read / write that much.
In addition, I did a fresh install of Windows, so I don't have any of the additional softwares installed. Not sure how much bloatware was installed on the laptop to begin with. I don't think I even booted it once before repartitioning / reinstalling. Call it OCD, but I need to know everything that's running at all times. Helps troubleshooting, and if performance is off even a hair, I know somethings up...

 

Reply
Options

33 Posts

02-10-2011

Texas, USA

144 Signins

343 Page Views

  • Posts: 33
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2011
  • Location: Texas, USA
  • Views: 343
  • Message 47 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-03-13, 3:06 AM
could you give the model number of the card? If the Intel 310 works, which was only recently released (way after y560s were released I believe), I would assume that Lenovo did not blacklist/whitelist any drives, since if that were true the Intel mSata card should not work.

Are you sure it it is mSata and not a mPCIe SSD with a PCIe to Sata controller?
Reply
Options

7 Posts

04-02-2011

USA

52 Signins

127 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎04-02-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 127
  • Message 48 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-04-06, 23:17 PM

Well, I tried to put an Intel 310 in my mini pcie slot, and it isn't seen in either the bios or the operating system, nor any bootable media I've tried.


That's a shame, would've loved to have a little 40gb ssd in my laptop to help boot times.

 

EDIT EDIT EDIT;

When I had put in the ssd, I put it in the individual mini pcie slot, and it wasn't recognized.

 

Later, I opened the hdd section on the back of my y560p, put the ssd in the free slot there, and it is recognized in a windows installation disk!

 

I didn't realize the one in the hdd compartment was mSATA, and the one in the individual compartment was mPCIE

 

I can't install an OS right now, but I will try later tonight, and will report back. With a picture of where to install it.

Reply
Options

7 Posts

04-02-2011

USA

52 Signins

127 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎04-02-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 127
  • Message 49 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-04-07, 2:49 AM

Well, I've installed Windows 7 onto the SSD, as well as just about all the drivers included with the device, and a couple apps such as Firefox 4 and CrystalDiskMark.

 

Boot up time from the moment I hit the power button to the password input menu (measured by me and my stopwatch) was about 19 seconds. It took about 3 more seconds for Veriface to turn on and recognize me, which is much better than it was on a hard drive (Veriface took about 15 seconds before).  Here are my crystaldiskmark results:

 

 

Link to picture

 

And here is a picture of where to put the SSD (the mini PCIe slot on the right is where the integrated wifi card is placed)::

 

Link to picture

 

 

Moderator note; picture(s) totalling >50K converted to link(s) Forum Rules

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

33 Posts

02-10-2011

Texas, USA

144 Signins

343 Page Views

  • Posts: 33
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2011
  • Location: Texas, USA
  • Views: 343
  • Message 50 of 96

Re: Installing SSD In y560

2011-04-07, 4:15 AM
Thanks for the benchmark and installation photo! To be honest, I was hoping for much higher 4k random read speeds, but it still is an order of magnitude larger than the speed for the 5400 RPM HDD. Make sure to put the page file only on the SSD, so that the HDD can turn off when not being used; and I would leave the hibernation file on the HDD, since it only takes about 20 seconds to load from hibernation on the HDD anyway and there is not much space on the SSD.

Good luck with the drive! Let us know if anything new comes up.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms