Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

1609 Posts

09-16-2014

United States of America

3048 Signins

61403 Page Views

  • Posts: 1609
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 61403
  • Message 341 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 14:22 PM

A new test BIOS is available. I'd like a few people to test it and provide feedback.

 

Please PM me if you are interested in trying it.

Reply
Options

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 16:05 PM

Amy_Lenovo escribió:

A new test BIOS is available. I'd like a few people to test it and provide feedback.

 

Please PM me if you are interested in trying it.


No way, I'm dead sure warranty does not cover that. I'm not going to get involved into another argument with Lenovo local tech support if that new BIOS update screws up the laptop.

Reply
Options

81 Posts

05-04-2014

India

129 Signins

1239 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2014
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1239
  • Message 343 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 16:28 PM
if it wont void my warranty then I am ready for it. PM me thanks.
Reply
Options

81 Posts

05-04-2014

India

129 Signins

1239 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2014
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1239
  • Message 344 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 18:03 PM

dont flash the new beta BIOS. I messed up with laptop. It automatically entering in one key recovery :O

Whats the shortcut key to enter in BIOS ???

[EDIT]
some how manage to boot from HDD :D relaxed :D will comment soon.

Reply
Options

15 Posts

04-26-2014

Poland

132 Signins

775 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2014
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 775
  • Message 345 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 18:14 PM
We're waiting :)
Reply
Options

81 Posts

05-04-2014

India

129 Signins

1239 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2014
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1239
  • Message 346 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 18:36 PM

Ok. so at first sight. The results are negative with BETA BIOS 8dcn40ww which was provided.
Everything works fine while charging the Laptop. CPU clocks at 3.1GHz with all 31 multipliers.
but as I remove the power supply of Laptop.
CPU wont get stuck at 0.7GHz, but issue is that without power supply the CPU of the laptop clocks at maximum ~2.5GHz(2.496GHz) with 25 multipliers.
Lenovo Power Managerment modes won't let it clock higher as well.Changing those mode wont let it clock higer.
So its not utilizing TURBO BOOST.

I will post screenshot tomorrow and confirm my review again.Thanks. :smileyfrustrated:

Reply
Options

34 Posts

09-16-2012

ChicagoLand

113 Signins

587 Page Views

  • Posts: 34
  • Registered: ‎09-16-2012
  • Location: ChicagoLand
  • Views: 587
  • Message 347 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-10, 23:58 PM

wrote:

Ok. so at first sight. The results are negative with BETA BIOS 8dcn40ww which was provided.
Everything works fine while charging the Laptop. CPU clocks at 3.1GHz with all 31 multipliers.
but as I remove the power supply of Laptop.
CPU wont get stuck at 0.7GHz, but issue is that without power supply the CPU of the laptop clocks at maximum ~2.5GHz(2.496GHz) with 25 multipliers.
Lenovo Power Managerment modes won't let it clock higher as well.Changing those mode wont let it clock higer.
So its not utilizing TURBO BOOST.

I will post screenshot tomorrow and confirm my review again.Thanks. :smileyfrustrated:


 

Hi chavanshashank,

Can you confirm again what processor you have? I have an i7 4700MQ processor, so it tops out at 2.4ghz, and then goes to 3.4GHz for turbo boost.

 

I haven't tried the new bios yet, but when I unplug the laptop, and it's running on batteries, it will boost up to 2.4 ghz, and start at the .77Ghz. Can someone confirm that you should get the full turbo boost on battery?

 

I have a friend that has an alienware with the same processor as me, and his unit is basically the same as my z510 except he has an added nVidia graphics card, and his does the same thing. Tops at 3.4GHz when plugged in, but only boost up to 2.4Ghz on battery.

 

If this is, I am actually ok with this, as I understand that this should ease the battery. My main problem was that the unit would stick at .77 when unplugging the unit while it was on sleep mode. Afterwards, the unit would never again go above that unless I plug it in, shut down, and turn the machine back on. Is this fixed now? Let me know. Here is how to reproduce.

1.) Run the computer plugged in.

2.) Put computer in sleep mode

3.) unplug the laptop.

4.) bring the computer out of sleep mode.

5.) Unit is stuck at .77Ghz. Not even plugging it back in will fix the problem. You have to actually shut it down, plug in the power, and then turn it back on to fix the issue.

Reply
Options

81 Posts

05-04-2014

India

129 Signins

1239 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2014
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1239
  • Message 348 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-11, 2:55 AM

Yup. it should be easy with battery.But dont know exactly how much it should clock ? :D
I have i5 4200M . with config Z510/59-405838 .I will answer your remaining questions soon.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

10-15-2014

Singapore

38 Signins

252 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2014
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 252
  • Message 349 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-11, 6:40 AM

I guess the turbo boost issue,tht is not working without power supply remains in the beta testing version as well,they cant figure it out..lol

Reply
Options

81 Posts

05-04-2014

India

129 Signins

1239 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎05-04-2014
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1239
  • Message 350 of 419

Re: Lenovo Z510 CPU stuck at 0.77GHz

2014-11-11, 17:15 PM

Ok.
So after almost 24 hours of using new BIOS 8dcn40ww.
I am concluding this comment, Im following steps to reproduce the bug stated by jhorton328


Those steps are :

1.) Run the computer plugged in.

2.) Put computer in sleep mode

3.) Unplug the laptop.

4.) Bring the computer out of sleep mode.

5.) Unit is stuck at .77Ghz. Not even plugging it back in will fix the problem. You have to actually shut it down, plug in the power, and then turn it back on to fix the issue.

Also I performed another way to reproduce the bug by just putting Laptop in sleep mode while its Unplugged, Just to make sure about this aspect.

Lets come to result of new BIOS, I flashed new BIOS and now, finally I think bug of CPU stuck is resolved.

1) Note that I said CPU wont get stuck any more.But it wont go above ~2.5GHz without power supply.
As soon as you plug back to Laptop , CPU works completely fine clocking at its highest frequency. But dont know whether this is bug or not. I request you guys to look about this issue. Because if CPU won't clock higher than 2.5GHz instead of 3.1GHz then its just a waste of Intel Turbo Boost. But if this is all about saving battery life.Then Im fine with it.

So, let me post screenshots for you to confirm that bug is resolved.

(To clock CPU at the highest freq. I am using WinRAR benchmark utility.)

(My Laptop config is Z510/59-405838 (India), with i5-4200M,normal clock : 2.5GHz, turbo : 3.1GHz)

1) Laptop is plugged in and charging.
Status : CPU clocking at its highest freq. ~3.1GHz with all 31 multipliers.


Link to image 1

Before putting Laptop to sleep,I set power managerment mode to low.(Note: I dont think power managment affects the stucking of CPU at .77GHz ) Just to make sure and it should stuck at 0.77GHz. :D

2) Put Laptop to sleep and unplugged the laptop and turn it on again.
Status : Whoa, are you thinking CPU stuck at 0.77GHZ ? :D No its not.! Its idle and at LOW POWER MODE.See next screen shot to confirm :D

Link to image 2

Now as per the steps it should stuck at 0.77GHz isnt it? :D
Now just heating up my CPU little bit whether its stuck or not.

3)Running WinRAR benchmark to clock CPU at its highest frequency.
Status :  Awesome, theres no bug any more.Even on LOW POWER MODE its not getting stuck at 0.77GHz.. Relieved hm? CPU clocking at ~2.5GHz. :P (see my first note again why its 2.5GHz not 3.1Ghz)

Link to image 3

Trying to produce bug by another way.

4)Put laptop to sleep without plug in/power supply. And Turned it ON.
Status : You can see BIOS version is new 8dcn40ww. Whoa.. dont get afraid of 0.77GHz again. See the %Utilization Graph in task manager. CPU is working fine and was clocking at ~2.5Ghz.

Link to image 4

*I just want to post another screenshot about the highest clocking freq. of CPU (Im not assure its bug.) In which even with HIGH PERFORMANCE POWER MODE, CPU dont clock higher than ~2.5Ghz(2.49GHz). :P :P :smileyfrustrated: :D

Link to image 5

 

 

Moderator comment: Image(s) converted to link(s). For helpful information, please see: About Posting Pictures In The Forums.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms