Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

40 Posts

01-25-2013

Wichita

57 Signins

842 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2013
  • Location: Wichita
  • Views: 842
  • Message 141 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 2:36 AM

Link to image

 

Moderator note: images larger than 50k converted to links per forum rules:  Lenovo Community Participation Rules

Reply
Options

86 Posts

12-15-2012

Kentucky

296 Signins

2072 Page Views

  • Posts: 86
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2012
  • Location: Kentucky
  • Views: 2072
  • Message 142 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 3:36 AM

wrote:

Well, I just checked my power management and i see a new option that has never been there before. Lenovo Dynamic Graphics is now selectable in power management for me. Has anyone else had this option in theirs? I have no idea as to why it is suddenly there. Also, we're supposed to have a 16gb ssd right? Well in explorer i have lenovo D: and it says it has a total of 24-25 gigs of space. I find this odd since it is supposed to have a 16 gb caching ssd. Can anyone else confirm this or is something just totally whacko with my laptop.


Your c: and d: are just seperate partitions on the hard disk drive. Your d drive has enough room to make one custom OKR image as long as you haven't added too much software. Cache ssd is invisible to the end user. It works automatically.

Reply
Options

7 Posts

01-15-2013

India

74 Signins

400 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎01-15-2013
  • Location: India
  • Views: 400
  • Message 143 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 3:53 AM
Im in India too. Atlst you got working one.
But im stuck with faulty touchpad..

As you know customer care here is useless.
service centers didn't help.
Do we have any options? how can I change my faulty touchpad?
Reply
Options

24 Posts

01-24-2013

India

330 Signins

1824 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2013
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1824
  • Message 144 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 4:04 AM

@DarthXBlade : could yu please send me the link where i can get  modded (unlocked bios)with advance op or wat is the procedure to do it ???

Reply
Options

14 Posts

12-27-2012

United States

25 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 159
  • Message 145 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 13:12 PM
Is that a y500 in the picture?
Reply
Options

40 Posts

01-25-2013

Wichita

57 Signins

842 Page Views

  • Posts: 40
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2013
  • Location: Wichita
  • Views: 842
  • Message 146 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-25, 16:36 PM
yes
Reply
Options

14 Posts

12-27-2012

United States

25 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 159
  • Message 147 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-26, 3:55 AM
Show me your ways
Reply
Options

81 Posts

12-15-2012

New York, NY

190 Signins

1577 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2012
  • Location: New York, NY
  • Views: 1577
  • Message 148 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-26, 5:12 AM

Hi guys!

 

I was the second person posting on this thread. I have sent back my original machine, which was one of the first with the Elan touchpad problems and I've decided to send back the replacement for a refund because one of the main reasons I bought the Y500 was because it was marketed as having WiDi. As many here have posted, there were several places on the Lenovo site and  in 3rd party reviews WiDi was listed as standard and since I bought it online, that's all I had to go on. I already have my RMA number and was told I should call back and get my UPS label for the replacement laptop sent as soon as it's confirmed that the first laptop has been received.

 

So.... I started looking at what other laptops are out there (I am considering a Y580), and went to see what HP has that has might be similar to the Y500. I was amused to find this thread in the HP forums, which shows that they also have the exact same complaints from users as we have here. I'm beginning to think that maybe Intel should be involved in some way in standardizing how companies are marketing Intel WiDi technology in their products. Check it out here: http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Display-and-Video-e-g-Windows-8/HP-Envy-17-3D-CTO-3200-HD-4000-graphics-WiDi-locked-out-of/td-p/1630785/page/2 

 

There are a couple of other threads with the same theme re similar models... we are not alone, friends.

 

J.

Reply
Options

24 Posts

01-24-2013

India

330 Signins

1824 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2013
  • Location: India
  • Views: 1824
  • Message 149 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-26, 6:10 AM

@DarthXBlade : thank yu :smileyhappy: .. will yu be able to post it here or yu need my email id ?

Reply
Options

2 Posts

12-15-2012

USA

2 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 23
  • Message 150 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-26, 18:19 PM

This has been a very enlightening and helpful topic.

 

I ordered a nicely configured Y500 yesterday, and was looking forward to having it arrive.  I need to leave the county for a year of work, and need a portable machine that can also be my life connection and entertainment hub.  Plus, I am midway through Borderlands 2 nd Deus EX HR, so I will require some gaming ability.

 

Unfortunately, i will also be on planes a lot, and may need to actually use teh computer when on battery.  The inability to use teh low power HD4000 graphics while on battery is a deal killer.  If Lenovo will not release an open BIOS and proper spec to switch graphics, as competitors can do, then i cannot  support this platform.

 

Making Windows 8 (non Pro) the default is just another nail in the coffin.

 

I called in an canceled my order.  I really wanted this machine.  Too bad they crippled it. 

 

Now, who makes an equivalent machine with good gaming GPU that doesn't suck?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms