Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

01-16-2013

South Carolina

37 Signins

274 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-16-2013
  • Location: South Carolina
  • Views: 274
  • Message 151 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-01-31, 23:50 PM

will you post a link to the mod BIOS?

Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-16-2012

Canada

7 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-16-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 24
  • Message 152 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-01, 1:34 AM
I received a Y500 replacement today and it came with out WIDI. I am very disappointed and frustrated! I found this from a guy who owns a p500 with Intel® HD Graphics 4000. I didn't mind to tried it but I don't know what to do after. If someone can make it work this way please let us know Thanks http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-Z-and-P-series/P500-WiDi/td-p/948239 _____________ I just got a p500 as a gift, and after initially struggling to find the WiDi settings or software, I almost returned the laptop to BestBuy - in fact, I did offend the gift giver by asking for the receipt so I could do so....however, fortunately, I gave one last concerted effort prior to returning the product & after way to many hours of work - I am glad to report that it can be setup...and does work - I have it running now to my LG TV that has WiDi capability built in. I must admit, I went through many steps that might have helped get the final step working - however, I am pretty sure that the critical part of this is as follows: 1. The most crucial part of this is adjusting the Intel ProSet/Wireless Wifi Software installation - this software did not have two critical parts enabled a. the Intel MWT (My Wifi Technology) settings b. the Intel WiDi. settings To enable them, 1.I went to the Programs and Features area of Control Panel, and from the "Uninstall or Change a Program" area 2.I clicked the Intel Proset entry and then clicked "Next" buttons in the popup window, until you are prompted to either Change/Repair/Uninstall 3. I selected that I wanted to "Change" the install. 4. the following window showed that a couple features had not been installed: * Intel My Wifi Technology * Adminstrator Toolkit * Intel Proset/Wireless Enterprise Software 5. Click on each of these and select the "will be installed on hard drive" setting. 6. Click Next through the remaining confirmation screens until all options in the Custom Setup window are installed. 7. Reboot Computer 8. Open the Intel Proset/Wireless Tools (either via Network and Internet Page in the Control Panel) 9. Click on the "Administer" button 10. Create a password when you are asked to 11. Select "Create a new Package" when you are asked about Open Administrator Packages 12. The "Administrator Tool - New Package" window pops up and there should be 5 tabs available - the last 2 being the critical ones. Go to the "Intel MWT Settings" tab: - select and make active the "Include Intel My Wifi Technology Settings in this Package" (put tick in the box) - verify that the "Enable My WiFi Technology" option is selected and active (tick in the box) (the other settings might be worth reviewing for personal preferences) Go to the "Intel WiDi" tab: - select and make active the "Include Intel WiDi Settings in this Package" (put tick in the box) (the other settings might be worth reviewing for personal preferences) 13. Select the "Close" button at bottom right of window 14. A prompt will ask you if you want to save changes to the current package - Click "Yes" - name and Save in a place of your choosing (I created a My Settings folder in my personal directory) - once saved, a popup will give you a "Finished" button that you click - another window pops up with summary of the package * on this popup, select and activate "Apply this package to this computer" (place tick in checkbox) * and finally click "OK" This should now mean that your Wifi adapter is setup to utilize WiDi - and you can follow the steps on Intel's website about best practices and etc. actually using it (sorry I'm not going to go through those steps - please find links to this via other WiDi posts for other similar models). I hope that this helps you and the many other people that might be finding this similar roadblock.
Reply
Options

8 Posts

12-29-2012

California

8 Signins

85 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2012
  • Location: California
  • Views: 85
  • Message 153 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-01, 3:02 AM

i tried and followed these instructions from Peterguyhall. I believe you are giving the same "guide" from Peterguyhall.  i did everything step by step just like the instruction said.  it didnt work for me and i think other people tried it too.  you are apparently the only one who succeeded. i believe peterguyhall had a P500 model.

 

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-Z-and-P-series/Wireless-Display-WIDI-issue-on-ideapad-Y500/m-p/977731#M75209

 

but if it worked for you, i gonna try again. maybe i made mistake somewhere

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

12-29-2012

California

8 Signins

85 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2012
  • Location: California
  • Views: 85
  • Message 154 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-01, 3:07 AM

@ Dieg082 

i just realized u copied and pasted someone elses post

 

Reply
Options

5 Posts

12-27-2012

USA

7 Signins

37 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 37
  • Message 155 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-10, 0:37 AM

It might work for P500 as it has Intel HD 4000 Graphics enabled. For Y500/Y400 Intel HD graphics is disabled in BIOS. For WIDI Intel HD Graphics is required and will not work unless enabled in BIOS.

Reply
Options

59 Posts

02-01-2013

Puget Sound US

61 Signins

587 Page Views

  • Posts: 59
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2013
  • Location: Puget Sound US
  • Views: 587
  • Message 156 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-13, 13:43 PM

WOW I can't believe lenovo just brushed this under the carpet for there own lack of knowlegde. I am having this same problem on a Z580... I do have access to the HD4000 they both show up in device manager, optimus works, I have a Wireless N 2200... and I don't have access to WiDi what a joke.

 

Moderator Note; profanity removed

Reply
Options

27 Posts

01-07-2013

Azerbaijan

30 Signins

176 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2013
  • Location: Azerbaijan
  • Views: 176
  • Message 157 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-18, 0:43 AM

Despite Lenovo's comments to the contraty Fry's electronics still advertisies widi as of 2/16/13

 

Reply
Options

81 Posts

12-15-2012

New York, NY

190 Signins

1577 Page Views

  • Posts: 81
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2012
  • Location: New York, NY
  • Views: 1577
  • Message 158 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-02-23, 10:25 AM
Hi Bowenac. Are you on WIN 8? Are you able to install and start up your WiDi software? I had the Y500, which I returned for an HP Envy. With the Envy I had to roll back to an earlier version of Intel Pro Wireless tools And then reinstall the WiDi client. It now works great. Please post your version numbers of Intel pro wireless tools and your widi software. I will post mine later.
Reply
Options

8095 Posts

11-19-2007

United States of America

10101 Signins

400183 Page Views

  • Posts: 8095
  • Registered: ‎11-19-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 400183
  • Message 159 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-03-04, 19:17 PM

EvanB,

 

Thanks for the photo.  Will look into this.

 

Mark

Reply
Options

45 Posts

01-03-2013

Sweden

529 Signins

3313 Page Views

  • Posts: 45
  • Registered: ‎01-03-2013
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 3313
  • Message 160 of 170

Re: Wireless Display (WIDI) issue on ideapad Y500

2013-03-04, 21:06 PM

wrote:

EvanB,

 

Thanks for the photo.  Will look into this.

 

Mark


Also This Swedish store is marketing the Y500 with Widi and with Intel HD graphics :)

 

http://www.elgiganten.se/product/datorer-tillbehor/barbar-dator/LEY500954138G/lenovo-ideapad-y500-15-6-barbar-dator-954138g-svart

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All