Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit our eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

04-23-2008

Ottawa Canada

9 Signins

78 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2008
  • Location: Ottawa Canada
  • Views: 78
  • Message 1 of 8

Y510 and XP

2008-04-28, 12:23 PM
Hello,
 
I bought a Y510 and it came with Vista.  I really don't like Vista.  How would I go about installing XP on the laptop?  Currently, I am getting Stop errors during install.  What am I missing?
 
Also, how is the performance with this laptop and XP?
 
Thanks
Reply
Options

22 Posts

04-25-2008

Durham NC

69 Signins

759 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: Durham NC
  • Views: 759
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-04-28, 13:48 PM
Read the Ideapad FAQ thread for info about installing XP. I installed XP, everything went great except for a front speakers issue
I have only recently noticed.
XP performs great on the Y510!
All the Vista and XP drivers are available at 
http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/lenovo/Drivers/list.aspx?CategoryID=134
 
Moderator Note; converted to clickable link


Message Edited by andyP on 04-28-2008 04:06 PM
Reply
Options

8 Posts

04-23-2008

Ottawa Canada

9 Signins

78 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2008
  • Location: Ottawa Canada
  • Views: 78
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-04-28, 13:53 PM
Thanks,
 
What is the order of operation for Option B.  I'm not sure what nLite is.
 
R
Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-28-2008

Redmond WA

2 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-28-2008
  • Location: Redmond WA
  • Views: 11
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-04-28, 17:31 PM
When you change the OS to XP, the instructions say to change a BIOS disk setting from AHCI to "Compatibility".  If you upgrade the BIOS this setting will go back to AHCI and you need to again set it to Compatibility.  Otherwise the XP system will not boot. 
Reply
Options

8 Posts

04-23-2008

Ottawa Canada

9 Signins

78 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎04-23-2008
  • Location: Ottawa Canada
  • Views: 78
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-04-28, 17:46 PM
How do you upgrade the BIOS?
 
....and I don't unterdand the order of operations of option "B"
 
Sorry to be think in the head, but I just want to make sure I understand what I am doing.
Reply
Options

62 Posts

03-14-2008

Moscow, Russian Federation

135 Signins

1314 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎03-14-2008
  • Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
  • Views: 1314
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-04-30, 6:32 AM
Here you will find BIOS for y510 and all the instructions you need.
Option B is integrating driver for SATA into installation disk, you don't need it if you switch AHCI to compatible mode, so you can forget about it.
Reply
Options

13 Posts

04-26-2008

Singapore

21 Signins

174 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 174
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-05-26, 4:45 AM
Hi, I intend to have dual boot so that I can choose between Vista and XP when Y510 startrs. Once I have changed the setting from AHCI to "Compatibility" for the purpose of XP installation, and when XP has been successfully installed, do I change back to AHCI? If I do that will Y510 give me the option of dual boot when I switch on the computer? Or do I just leave to "compatibility" if so, will I be able to dual boot when y510 is switched on? Thanks for the help
Reply
Options

7 Posts

05-25-2008

France

19 Signins

212 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎05-25-2008
  • Location: France
  • Views: 212
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Y510 and XP

2008-05-26, 6:02 AM
If you do not want to change BIOS setting when booting XP you have to provide an AHCI driver on a diskette at XP installation time. You can find such driver on Intel site search S96S drivers you will find AHCI driver 32 and 64 bits.
I created a disk with XP (but no dual boot) XP is running even faster than Vista 32 according to my own experience.
Rgds
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms