English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 1 of 15

Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-09-19, 20:29 PM

Hi friends,

 

 When I try to start my Z500 under W 8.1, the black screen with the LENOVO barnd name appears but stop without  to charge Windows.

 

If I press Fn, (on this screen) the computer starts normally.

 

Do you have any idea of how fix the problem? Is not very serious, of course, but disturbing

 

Thanks a lot!

 

Josep

Reply
Options

404 Posts

07-12-2014

London

346 Signins

5196 Page Views

  • Posts: 404
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2014
  • Location: London
  • Views: 5196
  • Message 2 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-09-19, 21:59 PM
Seeing as the FN keys are controlled via BIOS, it could need updating or reinstalling.
Lenovo y510p - Intel Quad-core 4th gen i7-4700MQ @3.40Ghz - 16GB RAM - 1TB HDD 8GB SSD - 1080p FHD - Nvidia 755m SLI
Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 3 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-09-22, 12:44 PM

Well I have some more trials and, in fact, the Windows is hold until I press any key.

 Seems like if the Pause/Break has been pressed and needs other key to restart the charge of W 8.1

 

any idea about?  

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 4 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-09-30, 15:35 PM

Really nobody has got the sama problem?

Reply
Options

5402 Posts

05-09-2013

US

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5402
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 5 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-09-30, 16:24 PM

Had the Z500 Touch for more than a year running Win 8.1 and had not encounter such a problem. Try going to the bios and set the settings to default values. Then disable pxe comp. Save and exit. Once booted try running command prompt with admin rights "sfc /scannow". Don't include the quotation mark. See if there are errors found and repaired.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 6 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-10-01, 12:20 PM

Thanks a lot Lenz, 

 

I have done your advice and the scannow returns the sentence that some corrupted files are found but was impossible to  fix it.

 

Other charateristics of the problem is that If I starts W8 with de USB keyboard branched, they write the sentence in reverse. If I type 1234 the writting is 4321. IF I plug the USB afther the start of W8, works fine but sometimes, if the computers goes to sleeping mode, its frozen and the mousepad is as well blocked. 

 

There is a way to fix  W8.1 without to reinstall all applications? For files ther is nota  problem as I have regular buck up's, but  their i a lot of applications to rebuilt.

 

Thanks a lot again!

 

Josep

Reply
Options

5402 Posts

05-09-2013

US

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5402
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 7 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-10-01, 14:12 PM

wrote:

Thanks a lot Lenz, 

 

I have done your advice and the scannow returns the sentence that some corrupted files are found but was impossible to  fix it.

 

Other charateristics of the problem is that If I starts W8 with de USB keyboard branched, they write the sentence in reverse. If I type 1234 the writting is 4321. IF I plug the USB afther the start of W8, works fine but sometimes, if the computers goes to sleeping mode, its frozen and the mousepad is as well blocked. 

 

There is a way to fix  W8.1 without to reinstall all applications? For files ther is nota  problem as I have regular buck up's, but  their i a lot of applications to rebuilt.

 

Thanks a lot again!

 

Josep


To fix the errors found by sfc do the following:

 

Go to command prompt with admin rights. Type the following without the quotation mark "Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth". This should fix the errors. After fixing, reboot your unit.

 

Note: You should be connected to the internet when executing the above command.

 

SFC is the fix for windows 8/8.1 for corrupted files. If it can't do the fix the dism command will.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 8 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-10-01, 17:10 PM

Thanks again Lenz, 

 

I have try the DISM and is not able to download the files. Of course I was connected to internet.

 

In order to use "Source"  modificator, do you know where are the original Windows  files on C: disk? or how to dowload an image to be used?

 

Thanks a lot!

 

 

Reply
Options

5402 Posts

05-09-2013

US

6273 Signins

19373 Page Views

  • Posts: 5402
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 19373
  • Message 9 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-10-01, 20:37 PM

wrote:

Thanks again Lenz, 

 

I have try the DISM and is not able to download the files. Of course I was connected to internet.

 

In order to use "Source"  modificator, do you know where are the original Windows  files on C: disk? or how to dowload an image to be used?

 

Thanks a lot!

 

 


I would guess that the files are from microsoft. That is why it is important that you should be connected when executing the dism command.

 

Check for virus. Maybe your system is infected. Normally dism will fix any corupt system files but if there is an infection it surely can't do the fixing unless the infection is remove.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-19-2014

SITGES

10 Signins

57 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-19-2014
  • Location: SITGES
  • Views: 57
  • Message 10 of 15

Re: Z500 Only starts pressing Fn

2014-10-02, 16:33 PM

Hi Lenz, 

 

I have re-check viruses on disk and on start-on procedure by Avast., Only two or three :PUP is encountered in temp directories

 

I run DISM again with the same result. There is other way to locate the corrupted fiels anadchange it manually?

 

Thanks a lot, is any case it was very useful way to check the health of the W8.

 

Kind regards

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete