Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

01-01-2015

26 Signins

162 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2015
  • Location:
  • Views: 162
  • Message 61 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2015-12-31, 17:35 PM

Hi guys, I've been using the nova button for a year now and it kinda sucks!

 

Seeing this new method is tempting. Is it for sure that the caddy won't accept the original SSHD? Because putting my ssd in the bay will half the transfer rates!

 

Or is it not that noticable?

Reply
Options

4 Posts

11-01-2015

Poland

24 Signins

84 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎11-01-2015
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 84
  • Message 62 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2015-12-31, 18:21 PM
As I said before, caddy is accepting original sshd drive and it's just showing 1tb, no 8gb partiotion or smt, so yea go ahead and just use Legacy. I have ssd in drive bay, sshd in caddy and everything is fine here.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

01-02-2016

Closet

1 Signins

9 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2016
  • Location: Closet
  • Views: 9
  • Message 63 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-01-02, 17:49 PM

I had to register here only to confirm that the aforementioned method works. I have a Samsung SSD 850 EVO of 250GB in place of the original SSHD (1TB + 8GB) and the original disk is working great in the caddy. No problem whatsoever. The thing is, the original disk isn't over 1TB since it uses the 8GB as cache to speed up writing internally.

 

I backed up my data, set up the bios according to the pics, placed the disks as I said, deleted all partitions, partitioned, formatted and installed Win 8.1 Pro on the SSD. Working like a charm.

 

Thank You sir!

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-01-2016

Poland

3 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-01-2016
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 19
  • Message 64 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-01, 13:49 PM

Hi

My SSHD is gpt disk. What i need to do?

Must i format it and lose my data?

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-24-2014

Slovenija

50 Signins

317 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2014
  • Location: Slovenija
  • Views: 317
  • Message 65 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-16, 15:44 PM

So, finally threw out the original 1TB SSD-hybrid seagate and replaced it with a WD Blue 1TB.

 

I couldn't believe my eyes, it finally booted, on its own, no more F12.

 

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-16-2016

Namibia

4 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-16-2016
  • Location: Namibia
  • Views: 77
  • Message 66 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-16, 18:17 PM
You DON'T need to replace original SSHD 1TB with another drive. Method iacobionut described works perfectly with original Seagate SSHD 1TB. Just use legacy mode, all settings according to instructions he posted earlier, and install Windows on SSD. Put SSHD in the caddy and it will boot normally and OS will recognize both drives. Again, just use legacy as iacobionut described in his post, put original SSHD in the caddy, no boot loop problems at all.
Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-24-2014

Slovenija

50 Signins

317 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2014
  • Location: Slovenija
  • Views: 317
  • Message 67 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-16, 18:40 PM

I know, but I like to use UEFI ...

Reply
Options

11 Posts

12-18-2014

Romania

49 Signins

455 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-18-2014
  • Location: Romania
  • Views: 455
  • Message 68 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-17, 17:38 PM

Hi Bonovski,

 

Thank you for sharing your expereince with us.

 

It's great to know that a new HDD will do the needful.

 

So, for those who'd like to stay on UEFI just simply buy a new HDD.

 

For those who'd like to keep the original hdd, check my stepts mentioned above.

 

Also, glad to hear that other people managed to make it work.

 

Regards,

Ionut Iacob

Reply
Options

11 Posts

12-18-2014

Romania

49 Signins

455 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-18-2014
  • Location: Romania
  • Views: 455
  • Message 69 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-17, 17:40 PM

Hi cchh,

 

You'll have to backup your data before following my steps.

 

Regards,

Ionut

Reply
Options

30 Posts

11-26-2014

France

32 Signins

262 Page Views

  • Posts: 30
  • Registered: ‎11-26-2014
  • Location: France
  • Views: 262
  • Message 70 of 77

Re: Z710 reboots on Lenovo start logo, 2 hdd's

2016-05-30, 10:06 AM

Let me debunk two false informations here:

 

1. There is NO limit in HD size when you plug in the CD/DVD tray.  I have a Samsung (Seagate) HD, model = ST2000LM003.  It has 2TB disk size.  I plugged it into the CD/DVD tray and my Windows sees the whole size!

Who said this SATA port is limited in HD size?

 

2. There is NO limit in transfer rate in the CD/DVD tray.  That is a normal SATA port.  Who made you think its transfer rate is restricted??

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms