Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

28 Posts

05-10-2013

East Coast

29 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2013
  • Location: East Coast
  • Views: 232
  • Message 1 of 7

y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 17:55 PM

Maybe this is a quick fix maybe not, I have a y400 laptop and a samsung 22in tv that I am connecting to the laptop via a hdmi cord, the issue is that it bleeds outside the display of the tv no matter what duel screen settings I use. 

 

I will admit that I need help on this one and have no clue what troubleshooting i need to do so if I could get some handholding I would be grateful,

 

Thank you in advance,

Reply
Answer
Options

28 Posts

05-10-2013

East Coast

29 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2013
  • Location: East Coast
  • Views: 232

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 23:31 PM

I was able to fix it, with my laptop it has a "NVIDIA control panal" I opened that up by right clicking on the desktop and once I looked through all the tabs there was one for "adjust desktop size and position" which actually allowed me to manually fix what they called "overscaning"

Reply

Replies(6)
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 19:24 PM

hi jay_rab

 

Thanks for posting!

 

 

Can you try setting your samsung as the main display.
Rightclick  on the desktop and select Screen Resolution

 

download.jpg
1. Select your samsung as display
2. Place a check on make this my main display
3. Check the resolution and set it to the highest option
4. Apply the settings and see if that works

 

Hope this helps

Cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

28 Posts

05-10-2013

East Coast

29 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2013
  • Location: East Coast
  • Views: 232
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 21:35 PM

please forgive the quality of the photos but here is what is happening (it seems the bleed is in all directions including top and bottom)2013-10-29-172705.jpg2013-10-29-172737.jpg2013-10-29-172721.jpg

Reply
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 22:20 PM

hi 

 

  Can you try right clicking on your desktop screen and click on Graphics option > Panel Fit

like on this photo but mine only have "Maintain aspect ration since im using a built in Monitor.

Can you try the options there aside from maintain aspect ration and see if any would work.

Untitled.jpg

 

 

Hope this helps

Cheers!

 

 

 

 



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

28 Posts

05-10-2013

East Coast

29 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2013
  • Location: East Coast
  • Views: 232
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 22:50 PM

doesnt look like I have that option 

 

edit: as I dont have the graphics options tab

Reply
Answer
Options

28 Posts

05-10-2013

East Coast

29 Signins

232 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-10-2013
  • Location: East Coast
  • Views: 232
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 23:31 PM

I was able to fix it, with my laptop it has a "NVIDIA control panal" I opened that up by right clicking on the desktop and once I looked through all the tabs there was one for "adjust desktop size and position" which actually allowed me to manually fix what they called "overscaning"

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: y400 and tv resolution

2013-10-29, 23:34 PM

hi

 

That's great to hear

Thanks for getting back with your findings

Cheers to That!

 

Solid Cruver



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms