Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

31 Posts

11-17-2008

United States of America

40 Signins

426 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 426
  • Message 31 of 35

Re: y510 CPU Options

2008-11-21, 3:47 AM

I received confirmation today that the T9500 and X9000 are GM965 and PM965 compatible.  So they should work fine in the Y510s.

 

Reply
Options

20 Posts

06-30-2008

Canada

335 Signins

1874 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎06-30-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 1874
  • Message 32 of 35

Re: y510 CPU Options

2009-03-07, 22:33 PM

I successfully upgraded the processor from T2370, to T7500, running Vista Home Premium. No problems. Applied some Artic Silver 5.

Someone had mentioned in an earlier post that he needed to delete or change a file in Vista when he swapped the CPU. This wasn't an issue for me. The problem may have been resolved in an update.

 

CPU temps (in celcius) 

41-47, Idle

67+(full load)

Running on balanced, and undervolted using rmclock.

 

Reply
Options

116 Posts

07-04-2009

Connecitcut

112 Signins

1033 Page Views

  • Posts: 116
  • Registered: ‎07-04-2009
  • Location: Connecitcut
  • Views: 1033
  • Message 33 of 35

Re: y510 CPU Options

2009-09-29, 0:07 AM

Could anyone put up some photographs of how to disassemble the Y510?

I've been searching for the HMM - but to no avail, and Hawks Photobucket links are dead.

 

I want to go through with this, as to increase the longevity of my laptop, albeit the integrated graphics; - I would rather go from a T5750 to the T9XXX , T7XXX series and pay $200-300, than drop $700+ on a whole new system which will pale in comparison in terms of collective features.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

02-19-2010

Florida

23 Signins

224 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎02-19-2010
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 224
  • Message 34 of 35

Re: y510 CPU Options

2010-08-08, 16:41 PM

Hi Funkyman:

I could not find anything about changing the cpu on a Y710 in the forum. Can you point me iin a direction to help with the cpu change? Do you have to remove the motherboard or can it be done through the cover for the CPU and memory?

Russ

Reply
Options

11 Posts

02-08-2015

Tampa, FL

28 Signins

159 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎02-08-2015
  • Location: Tampa, FL
  • Views: 159
  • Message 35 of 35

Y510 CPU upgrade, T9600

2015-02-18, 3:37 AM

 Can anyone confirm or deny the compatabiltiy of the T9600 in the Y510?

 

Installed it today, quite an easy swap. I was/am impressed with the build quality of this machine. 

 

Yes, I upgraded my BIOS. Latest version of 33 (I was at ver 29, yikes!). After updating BIOS I had a few windows updates that I made sure where complete before breaking out the tools. Currently running Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit.

 

 

After hitting power button, HDD light flickers for only a second, then nothing. Continues to be nothing until I hold the power button down to 'hard shut down'. Try again: same result.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms