Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

64 Posts

10-17-2008

Poland

113 Signins

732 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 732
  • Message 1 of 11

[y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-15, 10:11 AM

Hi all! I recently bought new 7200rpm HDD and I wan to swap it with my laptop`s hard disk. Any ideas how to do it, without loosing any data and partitions including hidden recovery partiotion? I want to keep my OS untouched as well.

 

Thanks for all help.

Message Edited by eeKyy on 12-15-2008 02:28 AM
Ideapad Y530; P9500 @ 2.53 GHz; 250 GB 7200 rpm HDD; 4 GB OCZ RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS
Reply
Options

131 Posts

12-06-2008

USA, New Jersey

203 Signins

2148 Page Views

  • Posts: 131
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2008
  • Location: USA, New Jersey
  • Views: 2148
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-15, 21:02 PM
I was looking to do this as well, unfortunatelly i have not purchased a new drive yet.  I know a full sector cloning using something like Acronis may due the trick but my previous experience with T60's/T61's i had trouble with the boot sectors copying to a larger drive.
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-15-2008

Fountain Valley, CA

17 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2008
  • Location: Fountain Valley, CA
  • Views: 265
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-15, 21:54 PM
okay so first of all...you should ghost your hard drive...

ghosting is basically making an exact replica of your hard drive that you have and copying it over to your new hard drive....all the partitions should be the same and all

but i do not know the whole process of ghosting...so you might want to find the program and find how to do it through the internet

my friend usually does it for me.....so i will be doing that also

once youre done ghosting the hard drive you can format the 320gb 5400 rpm and just keep it in the hot swappable for storage and use the 7200rpm as your main
Reply
Options

43 Posts

09-09-2008

San Francisco, CA

71 Signins

761 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2008
  • Location: San Francisco, CA
  • Views: 761
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-16, 5:54 AM

If you're comfortable with using Linux/command line (its really minimal), check out SystemRestoreCD for cloning your hard drive.

 

A simple guide: http://lifehacker.com/software/geek-to-live/partition-and-image-your-hard-drive-with-the-system-rescue-cd-292972.php

 

However, the section of the guide on restoring the cloned image to your new hard drive is a bit fuzzy. The proper procedure can be found in one of their comments.

 

http://lifehacker.com/software/geek-to-live/partition-and-image-your-hard-drive-with-the-system-rescue-cd-292972.php#c2382279

 

I've used it twice so far and it's worked out great.

Reply
Options

64 Posts

10-17-2008

Poland

113 Signins

732 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 732
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-16, 7:31 AM
So I need to image my c: drive, that`s seems pretty easy but what about technican partition I do not want to loose one key recovery functionality. Did anybody do it on y530?
Ideapad Y530; P9500 @ 2.53 GHz; 250 GB 7200 rpm HDD; 4 GB OCZ RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS
Reply
Options

131 Posts

12-06-2008

USA, New Jersey

203 Signins

2148 Page Views

  • Posts: 131
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2008
  • Location: USA, New Jersey
  • Views: 2148
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-16, 8:01 AM

http://forums.lenovo.com/lnv/board/message?board.id=ideaPad&thread.id=4467

 

You can use this as a guide... I'll do it tomorrow maybe if i can find an extra drive, i should, and ive been meaning to test run this anyways before i spend and $$ on a new laptop hard driive.  I was going to use this guide as my approach for migration to a new hdd.  Whatever img software you use look for any sector copy or complete clone or anything to designate a full identical copy.  Like i mentioned before with T60 series lenovo's and norton ghost (ghost 10 i believe), the ghosting didnt fully copy the boot sector, yet the copy worked fine if i used a windows boot CD to jump start it.  Im just afraid ill run into the same thing, but im sure if you use a newer img software it wont even be an issue (i bet ya Ghost 10 is retarded and didnt include the copy of the boot sector by default).  The guide provides instruction, FOR ON THE NEW DRIVE, to replace the factory back up / and NOVO (Recovery features), with a new one once u get everything running.

 

Perhaps with what i explained someone can reassure us with exp of newer software? I know ive read about better Imging / cloning in more recent, but havent had any hands on.

Message Edited by rstoegbauer on 12-16-2008 03:05 AM
Reply
Options

64 Posts

10-17-2008

Poland

113 Signins

732 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 732
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-18, 13:08 PM
I did my clone with Acronis True Image Home 2009 trial version. Works fine and very easy to do, just couple of mouse cliks. ;)
Ideapad Y530; P9500 @ 2.53 GHz; 250 GB 7200 rpm HDD; 4 GB OCZ RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS
Reply
Options

131 Posts

12-06-2008

USA, New Jersey

203 Signins

2148 Page Views

  • Posts: 131
  • Registered: ‎12-06-2008
  • Location: USA, New Jersey
  • Views: 2148
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-18, 17:53 PM
very nice, after the clone did u simple resize c: to make use of additional hdd space?
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-15-2008

Fountain Valley, CA

17 Signins

265 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-15-2008
  • Location: Fountain Valley, CA
  • Views: 265
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-18, 20:23 PM
make sure the clone is fully functional

i dont like to use trial versions of things too often...they sometimes miss key components

check your partitions, etc and get back to us
Reply
Options

64 Posts

10-17-2008

Poland

113 Signins

732 Page Views

  • Posts: 64
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: Poland
  • Views: 732
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: [y530]How to swap a HDD

2008-12-19, 12:23 PM
True image gives you option to resize partitions whatever you like, and so I did it. My new hdd work very good after 3 days. There is noticeable speed up of my OS (vista).
Message Edited by eeKyy on 12-19-2008 04:23 AM
Ideapad Y530; P9500 @ 2.53 GHz; 250 GB 7200 rpm HDD; 4 GB OCZ RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms