cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 455
Message 1 of 11

Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Greetings. I got a failing Hard Drive for months now in my IdeaPad Y580. First I want to know what are the full specifications of the original HDD inside this computer before changing it (brand, type, RPM, etc...)

 

I have the basic Windows 7 Home edition that came with it. So If I have the recovery discs already burnt, can I replace the HDD wit another one and use the recovery discs to install windows and all the drivers and programs with them on the new HDD or do I need to back up the license of Windows and otehr prograsm before? Because I read for Windows 8 and 10, you need to do so before installing a new hard drive.

 If so, by using the recovery discs on the new HDD? will I get partitions like the one key recover partition and everything looking like when the PC was purchased or after a factory reset on the same old HDD?

 

What are the exact types of screwdrivers that can unscrew the screws to give me access to the HDD?

 

Thanks.

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 401
Message 2 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

Greetings.

 

You can get more details of your machine including the harddrive that came with using your serial number on the parts lookup page or share the machine number / MTM (ex. 20994AU) from the sticker or parts lookup page.

 

For MTM 20994AU, harddrive is PN 16200004 WD WD5000BPKT 7200RPM 500G HDD. It shows a SATA  500GB 7200rpm 2.5 7mm standard spinner drive for this models.

 

You can use the recovery media to install just Windows and drivers. This would not restore OKR functions and other previous preloaded softwares (during marketing like free trial antivirus etc.). No need for the license key since it is pre built on the board and would automatically activate using the same Win 7 home version. 

 

Here is the hardware manual that you can review. It describes how to remove the parts step by step along with the description of the screws you need to reference the type of screw driver needed or kit.

 

I hope this helps answer your query.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 394
Message 3 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

 wrote:

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

Greetings.

 

You can get more details of your machine including the harddrive that came with using your serial number on the parts lookup page or share the machine number / MTM (ex. 20994AU) from the sticker or parts lookup page.

 

For MTM 20994AU, harddrive is PN 16200004 WD WD5000BPKT 7200RPM 500G HDD. It shows a SATA  500GB 7200rpm 2.5 7mm standard spinner drive for this models.

 

You can use the recovery media to install just Windows and drivers. This would not restore OKR functions and other previous preloaded softwares (during marketing like free trial antivirus etc.). No need for the license key since it is pre built on the board and would automatically activate using the same Win 7 home version. 

 

Here is the hardware manual that you can review. It describes how to remove the parts step by step along with th...

 

I hope this helps answer your query.

 

Regards

 

 

 

Thanks for all the answers. My HDD is 1TB btw and not 500 GB.

Also if I have the recovery discs that I burnt from the OKR program, I won't be able to mimic the same structure with One Key Recovery partition in D partition and install the OKR program like on this PC afetr every factory reset? What is the use of the recovery discs then if I can't do this on a new HDD?

Is there a way to have a similar structure and everything on the new HDD like on the original HDD with everything in it from the D partition with the recovery and the OKR program?

Thanks.

PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 392
Message 4 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Thanks for all the answers. My HDD is 1TB btw and not 500 GB.

Also if I have the recovery discs that I burnt from the OKR program, I won't be able to mimic the same structure with One Key Recovery partition in D partition and install the OKR program like on this PC afetr every factory reset? What is the use of the recovery discs then if I can't do this on a new HDD?

Is there a way to have a similar structure and everything on the new HDD like on the original HDD with everything in it from the D partition with the recovery and the OKR program?

Thanks.
Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 383
Message 5 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

The 500 GB was just to give you an example how its was described on the parts lookup, " For MTM 20994AU, harddrive is PN 16200004 WD WD5000BPKT 7200RPM 500G HDD. It shows a SATA  500GB 7200rpm 2.5 7mm standard spinner drive for this models.".  

 

Created recovery image from OKR Recovery media is useful if you transfer the computer to another area, sell the computer, recycle the computer, or as a last resort put the computer in an operational state after all other methods of recovery have failed.

 

OKR is an OEM proprietorship features so if you change the harddrive, you can image Windows but not restore the OEM partition which is only done in the factory. This is what to expect if you try it now.

 

Others find cloning most effective with this outcome you want.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 376
Message 6 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

So if I change the HDD and use the recovery discs, al I will get are some drivers and windows? Not a single lenovo program will install on the new HDD like Energy management or others? What if I want to reformat the PC after installing the new HDD or do factory reset? The recovery dsics won't be useful after since the OKR app is not usable now?

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 341
Message 7 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

Greetings.

 

You would get Windows and drivers and it may include some OEM applications using the Recovery media on the new harddrive.

 

If you reformat the PC then after installing Windows proceed on the drivers and applications download and install from the support site. Others prefer it that way as they would have more space available and the choice to decide which apps they like to install.

 

In general sense, the recovery image restores the operating system and drivers.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 335
Message 8 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Thanks for the answer. You earlier talked about cloning the original Hard Drive in order to keep the same structure for the new HDD that I will install with the factory partition and OKR right? So If I do this I will be able to have the exact same HDD results on the new one as the old one?

If so, is it a safe procedure? I mean if my old HDD is failing and probably is having so many problems, if I clone it right now, will it clone all the problems on the old HDD to the new one too? What if I reformat the old HDD first and reset it to factory settings then I clone it? Will this delete all the current problems so making cloning safer?

Also if cloning that way works fine for the new HDD without importing problems, do you have a full guide for how to do it and with which tools? Do I need to clone it to an external USB HDD?

 

Thanks.

PLASTICA-MAN
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Location: US
Views: 302
Message 9 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580


@spidey101 wrote:

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

Greetings.

 

You would get Windows and drivers and it may include some OEM applications using the Recovery media on the new harddrive.

 

If you reformat the PC then after installing Windows proceed on the drivers and applications download and install from the support site. Others prefer it that way as they would have more space available and the choice to decide which apps they like to install.

 

In general sense, the recovery image restores the operating system and drivers.

 

Regards


 

Hello. Can you please answer me on the cloning HDD questions I asked in my previous post and if cloning can mimic the same original HDD on the new HDD without problems, can I clone directly the old HDD from this PC to the new HDD before installing it? Thanks.

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 293
Message 10 of 11

Re: Few questions before replacing Hard Drive in IdeaPad Y580

Hi PLASTICA-MAN,

 

Greetings.

 

As the work goes,  "Cloning" essentially duplicates one drive exactly the same depending on which cloning apps to use. This includes corrupt registries and apps as you may suspect so it is better to back up all your data first before proceeding.

 

If factory reset still is possible then reconfiguring it to default presets would be a good option. Our community does have a lot of shared discussion among members that have done it. Among the discusssion are here here and here

 

Take time to review the links and research more on whichever cloning app you want to try. They would provide specific instructions how to do it aside from the links provided as to give you ideas how to proceed best.

 

I hope this helps answer your questions.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors