cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Mangishlak
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Location: Azerbaijan
Views: 4,403
Message 1 of 12

HDMI doesn't work with Philips

Hi,

 

Most probably this problem has been already discussed here, but I didn't find any topics on this. I have Y550 Ideapad with GT 240M Nvidia graphics card which gives the best video performance I have seen so far on laptops. I was quite happy with it until I decided to link my laptop to TV through HDMI cable. It was fine first 1 hour of the video I watched, but after sleepmode I started having problems with signal. For some reasons the screen on my Philips TV started blinking, trying to recover the signal coming from laptop, sound went off and at the end - blue screen on TV saying "no input signal" or "unsupported video format". I re-started computer and reconnected HDMI cable back to TV, but problem still exists. I thought the problem is with HDMI cable, so I changed it but result is the same. 

When I went to Internet I was surprised with number of  posts & forums with regards to the same problem. It seems Nvidia cards doesn't work properly with Philips LCDs and neither Philips nor Nvidia is trying to resolve this. It means millions of people having Nvidia cards cannot watch movies on their Philips tvs. I also noted that problem occurs on some other brands like Sharp, Thomson.. etc. People say if they disable nvidia drivers TV works fine, so it is definitely graphics card problem. All forums I read ended on 2009 so I believe there is a fix finally made by Nvidia to make their card compatible with Philips screens. But I cannot find it.

 

Does Lenovo have a fix for its laptops using Nvidia? What would be your suggestions.  Thanks & Regards.

Mangishlak

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,385
Message 2 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

i checked the tv manual for setting for hdmi, there weren't any, just the suggestion for resolution.

however, I did notice a picture of the hdmi jacks on the tv, there were two.

i was in the number two jack and was setting tv for the number one jack.

 

from this thread and do not forget to check tv manual.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Mangishlak
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Location: Azerbaijan
Views: 4,381
Message 3 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

yigit,

 

no, this is not the problem I have. My problem is that Nvidia card has a conflict with Philips LCDs when using HDMI. If you go for Google and write down Nvidia & Philips you will see I'm not the only nvidia card user having trouble watching movies.

 

I wonder if Lenovo has anything like recent fix for avoiding this on its laptops.

 

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,366
Message 4 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

checked nvidia forum for this issue?


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Mangishlak
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Location: Azerbaijan
Views: 4,336
Message 5 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

yigit,

yes I went to Nvidia forums and there are hundreds of users complaining for the same problem but Nvidia does nothing for that and this is frustrating, they will definitely loose a large number of customers. It seems Nvidia does not officially recognize this as a problem, but it is a problem. The only solutions I found from some threads is to edit .INF files at  setup.  

here is the solution -

http://files.bortweb.com/how_to_fix_nvidia_blurry_fuzzy_screen_or_text.htm

 

But the setup folder I have doesn't have nv_disp.ini file Smiley Sad(   I only have nv_disp.cat file which is impossible to open & edit.

 

 

 

 

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,332
Message 6 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

click on the nvdisp.cat file, press f2 to rename it to "nvdisp.inf" and try.

( under folder C:\NVIDIA\DisplayDriver\19****\WinVista_Win7\International )


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Mangishlak
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Location: Azerbaijan
Views: 4,319
Message 7 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

this doesn't help.  ini file opens with anonymous symbols, and doesn't look like normal .ini file they have described in thread.

This ini file is probably taken out by Nvidia and replaced by .cat type to prevent it from editing. I tried to find old setup version but since card is very new, this is the only release available

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,306
Message 8 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

update your graphic driver from here or try my inf file ( version using 195.62 )


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Mangishlak
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
Location: Azerbaijan
Views: 4,293
Message 9 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

thanks for helping me, but it seems the file you attached is not the one. It should have a line like..  [nv_SoftwareDeviceSettings]

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,280
Message 10 of 12

Re: HDMI doesn't work with Philips

try to update your drivers and may be the solution you've found is not new solution.


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors