cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
scottkin
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Location: Chicago Area
Views: 16,333
Message 1 of 26

How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

I need the functions keys to act like F1-F12 instead of the various operations they represent. How do I change them back to the legacy functions? Help!

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Posts: 5,822
Registered: ‎02-11-2012
Location: PH
Views: 16,288
Message 2 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

hi scottkin, Welcome to the Lenovo Community. The only way to remap keys (i.e. when you press F1 it will do CTRL+F2) is to use a key changing program like Autohotkey. The Fn key though is a different story. It's almost can't be done as you require to find the correct ascii code for you to remap it (check http://tinyurl.com/c8yq22g ) and it's also because the Fn key isn't handled by the wndows keyboard driver. Since the Fn combination keys (i.e. Fn+F1) are hardware controlled, having a feature of switching it from Fn+f1 to just F1 and vise versa is mainly done by a BIOS update (no current BIOS have this feature yet). Maybe in the future they will implment this functionality. Hope this helps.



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow us @LenovoSupport on Facebook and Twitter!

namorr
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Location: slovakia
Views: 15,992
Message 3 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Hi Neokenchi,

do you have code to Autohotkeys??? I do not know programing in this program...

 

Thank you very much

namorr
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Location: slovakia
Views: 15,958
Message 4 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

part of the solution:

install: autohotkey 

a here is script:

 


#InstallKeybdHook
Volume_Mute::
Send {F1}
Volume_Down::
Send {F2}
Volume_Up::
Send {F3}
Browser_Stop::
Send {F4}
Browser_Refresh::
Send {F5}
SC173::
Send {F6}
^!Tab::
Send {F8}
return

 

 

F7 :-( ????

Sindri
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-05-2013
Location: United States
Views: 14,677
Message 5 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Thanks!

Your code for F4 doesn't seem to work; it's still sending a close command. As far as I can tell the button is currently reading as Alt+F4 (or !F4 in ahk shorthand), not sending a Browser_Stop command.

The line for F5 also doesn't seem to be doing anything... but it looks to me from ahk's key history thing like it's already just sending an F5, instead of doing anything different? More testing is required.

F6 perplexes me, because you seem to have the right code but it doesn't seem to fix the problem; I'll work on that later.

Adding a 

<#p::

Send {F10}

extends what you're doing to the F10 key.

Unfortunately F7, F9, F11, and F12 are apparently working at a level below what autohotkey can read and interrupt. I might have some ideas for that, but they'll take time and expertise I don't have at the moment. But this so far is enough to upgrade from unusable to minorly inconvenient; we seem to have the left hand's keys all functional, and I won't have to worry about accidently closing things all the time.

henrydwa
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
Location: Jakarta
Views: 14,295
Message 6 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Nice.. i try first

cakiran
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-14-2013
Location: United States
Views: 12,382
Message 7 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Ok this was very frustrating not able to use f1-f12 keys as normal ones. I did as given in the links.

Go to this web site.
http://www.autohotkey.com/

Download autohotkey. Install it. 

Open any folder in your system.

Create new > should give you an option to create a autohotkey script. 

Create new one with pasting the following:

----------------------------

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
; #Warn ; Enable warnings to assist with detecting common errors.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir% ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.
#InstallKeybdHook
Volume_Mute::
Send {F1}
Volume_Down::
Send {F2}
Volume_Up::
Send {F3}
Browser_Stop::
Send {F4}
Browser_Refresh::
Send {F5}
SC173::
Send {F6}
^!Tab::
Send {F8}
<#p::
Send {F10}
return

-------------------------------------------------------

Right click > compile > it should create an exe > run it 

Viola you should see a autohotkey icon on your system tray and the functions keys should work like old ones.

Dostoyevski
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Location: gasteizVitoria-
Views: 10,888
Message 8 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Affter discovering this thread I was thinking that I maybe was going to keep the computer but, after noticing that F7 (Airplane **bleep**ing mode that turns wireless OFF!!!! WHAT THESE GUYS ARE THINKING ABOUT¿?¿?) i´ll just get my money back and get a toshiba.

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 2,226
Registered: ‎05-01-2008
Location: MY
Views: 10,096
Message 9 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Hi All,

We're aware of this and we will have a fix for this soon. Will keep you guys updated.

Regards,
Cleo


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
gforce1527
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-29-2013
Location: Thailand
Views: 9,896
Message 10 of 26

Re: How do you reset the function keys on a P500 ideapad to legacy? ie F1-F12

Please send me an update to my email account when you actually have a "fix" for this. Thanks in advance.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors