cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Ozgurus
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Location: Turkey
Views: 2,465
Message 1 of 6

How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

hi all,

I am using a z560 500GBHD with 8GB Ram with Windows7x64Ultimate at the moment but i am planning to upgrade my HD to a SSD.

But i have never used SSD before and i dont have the choice to fotmat everything and reinstall windows and other things. I am wondering if there is an easy way to transfer all my OS and other thinhs to SSD including the D drive for reinstalling windows and then never use old HD ever again.

And also which brand SSD do u suggest for Z560.

Thanks

Tinderbox_UK
Broadband 3G
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: UK, England
Views: 2,457
Message 2 of 6

Re: How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

Get an Samsung or an Intel SSD at least 256GB , cheap ssd`s have a lot of problems with bsods.

 

You could clone your hdd to your new ssd with Acronis 2013 or similar or better do a clean install if you have an Win7 DVD it can be downloaded for free if you don't.

 

edit : their are lots of guides on how to clone windows 7 hdd to ssd, just do a search, the problem with cloning, is your hdd is 500gb and unless you have the money for a 512gb ssd, your cloning software needed to reduce your c: partition size to fit on the ssd as this is the largest partition, Acronis 2013 will do this, but when you alter the c: partion size the one key recovery will no longer work, so you are better of doing a clean install so you dont have all these recovery partitons as they no longer work, do not change anything on you original hdd.

 

EDIT : I am not even certain that you can do a 1 to 1 clone from a 500gb hdd to a 512gb ssd as they both have different amount of free space, that will alow the one key recovery to work, as i said above if the c: partition changes is size by any amount okr will not work.

 

John.

Win7 Lenovo Ideapad Z580 i5-3210m HD4000 Win7 x64 8gb 1600MHz Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Ozgurus
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Location: Turkey
Views: 2,451
Message 3 of 6

Re: How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

So if i clone my old HD to new one thats all i need right?
What happens if i mirror my old and recover it to new one?
Tinderbox_UK
Broadband 3G
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: UK, England
Views: 2,432
Message 4 of 6

Re: How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

You would be better of doing a clean install, do you have an Win7 dvd?

 

John.

Win7 Lenovo Ideapad Z580 i5-3210m HD4000 Win7 x64 8gb 1600MHz Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Ozgurus
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Location: Turkey
Views: 2,413
Message 5 of 6

Re: How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

MY original OS is Vista then i upgraded to W7 with digital copy and now dont have it. Also if i install clean copy can i use my old Windows Key on the new OS or it may cause some problems?
Tinderbox_UK
Broadband 3G
Posts: 337
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
Location: UK, England
Views: 2,407
Message 6 of 6

Re: How to upgrade Z560 to SSD

If you have a legal Win7 key it will work fine, just download the correct windows version from the link below.

 

http://forum.notebookreview.com/windows-os-software/604187-legal-download-digitalriver-windows-7-sp1...

 

You can also download Z560 driver/software from the link below.

 

http://support.lenovo.com/en_GB/landing.page?qpq=z560

 

John.

 

 

Win7 Lenovo Ideapad Z580 i5-3210m HD4000 Win7 x64 8gb 1600MHz Samsung 830 256GB SSD

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors