cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Knighstar
Paper Tape
Message 1 of 6

Ideapad Y410p earpiece/headphone jack faulty?

Hello everyone, I just bought a Lenovo ideadpad Y410p yesterday and everything was going well, all except for one thing. I could not plug in any earpiece(I tried various models) or the headphone that came along as a free gift into my earpiece/headphone jack fully... they would always get stuck midway even when I tried using a little more force or using the connectors that were provided.. Even though they were stuck midway in, the computer still registered the plugging in of an audio device but I could only hear the sounds from a side occasionally or none at all. They all fit into my mic jack though but the sounds all came from the speakers. I am no tech expert so does anyone know how to help me solve this problem? Is it a defect?
Highlighted
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Message 2 of 6

Re: Ideapad Y410p earpiece/headphone jack faulty?

Hi Knighstar, welcome to the forum.

Can you check this thread, about a "bead" in the jack? Smiley Surprised

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-Z-and-P-series/y410p-Bead-stuck-in-headphone-jack-is-this-...

If that's your issue, please contact the Lenovo Support phone.

Cheers

DragonRider

I'm DO'ing IT

Yoga 900 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6500U CPU @ 2.50GHz (Skylake-Y)

X1 Carbon 2nd Gen (20A8) ThinkPad/YOGA Tablet 2 Pro-1380F/IdeaCentre A520 All-In-One i5-3230M/Lenovo Y470 i7-2630QM/T420

Knighstar
Paper Tape
Message 3 of 6

Hi~ Hrm, mine's a different case, it's a weird little piece of metal that's sticking out from a side inside the jack that's why I can only plug all my earpieces in midway I guess(the tips are thin enough to get pass it but not the rest of it). I tried taking it out with a toothpick bup it seems to be stuck quite snugly inside like it's part of the laptop..
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Message 4 of 6