cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
clc86
Paper Tape
Views: 1,329
Message 1 of 3

Ideapad y480 how to install OS on SSD instead of HDD?

First of all, I am a big computer noob and am really not good with them. 

That said, I just received my y480 and noticed the OS is installed on the 1TB hard drive as opposed to the 32GB SSD. It's to my understanding that it would be better (faster) to have the OS installed on the SSD instead. 

Two questions:

1. Are there advantages of having the OS on the HDD than the SSD? Do they outweight the advantages of having it on the SSD?

2. If I should install it on the OS, how do I go about doing so? I don't have any disks. I tried the Onekey Recovery but I couldn't seem to find how to ge the OS switched the SSD. It would only allow me to do it on the HDD again.

Thanks so much!

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Views: 1,295
Message 2 of 3

Re: Ideapad y480 how to install OS on SSD instead of HDD?

hi clc86,

Welcome to the Lenovo Community.

The sole purpose of the 32GB mSATA SSD is to improve system performance by caching data (it remembers your frequently accessed files for faster access). If you have Windows 7, lenovo uses Rapid Drive to combine the mSATA SSD and HDD to cache data. For Windows 8, the BIOS is "somewhat" modified to combine the two drives mSATA SSD and HDD using RAID 0 and use Intel Smart Response Technology. The OS is usually installed on the HDD and the mSATA SSD as a dedicated cache drive.

If you want to install the OS on the mSATA SSD, you can clean install by using a retail copy of Windows or try this software (or a similar app) to move yuor OS and apps from your HDD to the mSATA SSD.