cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
csp0811
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
Views: 3,067
Message 31 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

I recommend you put hte pagefile on the SSD if possible. I recall reading a Microsoft techblog post about how most pagefile operations are sequential reads, with a majority of the reads being rather large (above 512 KB I believe). SSDs are perfect for that kind of operation, and so you would hopefully see less studdering since Windows doesn't have to wait on the HDD anymore for its many background operations.

Nate
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Location: New York City
Views: 3,047
Message 32 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

Yep, you're absolutely right. I just moved it back to the SSD and it gained a .1 point back on the Windows Experience index (primary hard disk). Also, for some reason it was taking a second when I clicked on a new program to install. Now it pops up immediately.

 

Not only that, but now I can put the HDD to sleep when on battery without the pagefile keeping it awake.

 

Thanks for the tip!

csp0811
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
Views: 3,043
Message 33 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

I'm glad I could help! I hope to get one pretty soon, probably in April after I get the motherboard replaced. I'm pretty excited! Good luck with your SSD.

jbondc
Punch Card
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎11-12-2010
Location: Canada
Views: 2,958
Message 34 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

The official lenovo SSD parts:

 

SSD, Samsung MMDPE64GEDXP-MVB mSATA 64G
SSD, Samsung MMCRE32GEDXP-MVB mSATA 32G

 

Though the new thinkpad and most likely ideapad models will have the intel m-SATA SSD:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=8OLCLIdvBP0

http://cache-www.intel.com/cd/00/00/46/66/466668_466668.pdf

 

Btw, if you have a 7200rpm drive I don't think rapidrive is worth the hassle (two potential points of failure).

 

You are probably better off replacing your primary hard drive with a regular SATA SSD for better boot time etc...

If you want a secondary drive and you're willing the pay the price, an m-SATA hard drive is good idea.

 

csp0811
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
Views: 2,950
Message 35 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

It appears any m-SATA card will work, since the drives connect with the SATA interface, not the PCIe interface.Thus it appears as a normal hard drive, and I don't think they have blacklisted any drives.

joseph72
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-30-2011
Location: SoCal
Views: 2,862
Message 36 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

worse, they have whitelisted. so far the only one's that seem to work are the samsung and intel msata mini-pcie cards
joseph72
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-30-2011
Location: SoCal
Views: 2,860
Message 37 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

what is your boot time from button push to desktop?
csp0811
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
Views: 2,837
Message 38 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

I don't think they have whitelisted any hard drives, since the HDD already built in is one. Like I said, it's mSATA, so the interface is SATA, not PCIe. Its IDE0, the first port.
Nate
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Location: New York City
Views: 2,828
Message 39 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

 


@joseph72 wrote:
what is your boot time from button push to desktop?

 

 

21.5 seconds. (I have more than a few things in startup)

 

Windows has started up:
     Boot Duration        :    21554ms
     IsDegradation        :    false

CliffordS
Punch Card
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-07-2010
Location: US
Views: 2,916
Message 40 of 92

Re: Installing SSD In y560

21.5 seconds is very good. Is that from start button to first screen with icons or is it the complete load with wvweything loaded?

CliffordS

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors