Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-30-2011
Location: SoCal
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

already tried all of that but no cigar. 30 secs at best still.
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

I don't know what's left; I mean the performance of the SSD is equivalent to that of the X25-V I believe, which is probably a third of the performance of SSDs like the Vertex 2. You might do better with a premium SSD. 30 seconds sounds pretty awesome though; it takes longer for my laptop to get out of hibernation.
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-30-2011
Location: SoCal
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

I've come to the conclusion that not having sandy bridge is the culprit to my doomed attempt at reaching a 15 sec boot time. anyone know where I can get a sandybridge mobo that will fit a y560d?
Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

You can't, as far as I know, unless you own some company that doest contract repair/replacement work for Lenovo. I don't see why Lenovo would want to ship you a laptop motherboard and CPU. You might be better off getting a Sandy Bridge laptop. The SSD will still fit , as all the versions of the y560p use the same chassis and motherboard design.

What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-10-2011
Location: Lima
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

hello community, I'll buy this model

http://www.amazon.com/MyDigitalSSD-64GB-50mm-Bulletproof-mSATA/dp/B004X5YAP4/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronic...

I think they are a bit faster than the ssd intel 310 series but this is the one found with a capacity of not so poor, on its official website http://www.mydigitalssd.com/ get this:

Compatibility
ASUS Eee Slate EP121
Dell: M4500, M6400, M6500
Fusion Garage JooJoo
Google: CR-48 Chrome
Lenovo: K26, K47A, K47G
Lenovo IdeaPad: Y460, Y560
Lenovo ThinkPad: T420S, T420, T520, L420, L520, W520
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge: E220s, E420s, Y460, Y560
WeTab

I hope they are compatible with all y560, regarding the brand is not reliable if it is a have if somebody knows and tells us, also if someone clarifies the question regarding the IOPS, the difference is quite noticeable that is in front of 35,000 IOPS to 50,000 IOPS.

salu2 from Peru

Punch Card
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
Location: Texas, USA
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

all msata ssds are compatible, but not all are good. The best quality is the intel 310. The others have weaker controllers, which will give a smaller performance benefit. Most of them are not good with small random reads and writes, which is bad considering that the benefit SSDs really give is in random access speedmaybe .5 or less ms access vs 5 ms in HDD. I Would jsut get the intel one. ITs going to be more reliable and faster.

SCSI Port
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

Anyone have a good place to purchase one of these puppies? 

Intel 310 80GB

 

Danke!

*****************************************************************************
| Lenovo Y560 06465BU | i7-740QM 1.73GHz | ATI HD 5730 1GB | 15.4" HD LED 1366x768 LGD229 | Intel Wi-Fi 1000 | Win 7 HP x64 | Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR | 3dMark06 8189 | BIOS v62
SCSI Port
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

 

Just an update, I recently purchased an Intel 310 80GB mSata SSD.  DROP DEAD simple to install and use as boot drive.

 

I ended up using the screw that was on the wifi card, since it stays in pretty snug w/o the screw.

 

 

*****************************************************************************
| Lenovo Y560 06465BU | i7-740QM 1.73GHz | ATI HD 5730 1GB | 15.4" HD LED 1366x768 LGD229 | Intel Wi-Fi 1000 | Win 7 HP x64 | Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR | 3dMark06 8189 | BIOS v62
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Location: UAE
0 Kudos

Re: Installing SSD In y560

Hey guys, i got a MyDigitalSSD 128G and installed it to my Y560 ( not Y560p). It works great. No problems of detection or installation.

 

Installed windows on the SSD and it boots up just fine!

Punch Card
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-19-2011
Location: sweden
0 Kudos

Question: y560 SSD upgrade!

I want to buy a new pcie ssd to my lenovo y560 . 

 

This ssd has high speed.  Will it work with full speed in lenovo y560?

(Sequential Writeup to 469MB/s       Sequential Readup to 554MB/s)



 

http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/runcore-60gb-pro-v-sata-6g-50mm-msata-ssd/