cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Damnatory
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Location: Missouri
Views: 3,573
Message 1 of 6

Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

I'm thinking of buying an IdeaPad Y560(0646-2EU), it has such amazing spec for it's price, however the 5400rpm hard drive would bottleneck the performance on this machine greatly.

 

I wanted to buy a 7200rpm (or faster) drive to replace it with, however I'm uncertain how I'd reinstall the OS after replacing it? From the other posts I've read searching for an answer to this, it seems that the OS is installed on a (non-lettered) service partition, with the OS recovery on it that only boots when you kit a certain key while it's powered off.

 

Also, will i be able to clone the recovery partition to the new drive?

Retired Guru
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
Views: 3,522
Message 2 of 6

Re: Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

Both Seagate and Western Digital now have aversion of Acronis True Image available on their websites. With this you can clone the entire HD to a new one, plus create disk images.

For a HD other that those brands, various cloning/imaging software is available.

Also create the Lenovo recovery disks. They can put a default factory install on a new HD, minus the recovery partition.
gilwood
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Location: MA
Views: 3,511
Message 3 of 6

Re: Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

I'm thinking about doing the same thing to my Y450.  However, I was wondering what I needed to do to get a clean install of Windows 7 Home Premium on my laptop assuming I have the disk?

 

It seems that the recovery / hidden partition needs to be created in order for the OS to be booted up.

Damnatory
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Location: Missouri
Views: 3,480
Message 4 of 6

Re: Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

Awesome, thanks!
Do you happen to know off hand if those programs only work when cloning like drives; WD to WD or Seagate to Seagate?

If so, is there anyway to check which HDD comes stock in the Y560(0646-2EU)?
Retired Guru
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
Location: USA
Views: 3,455
Message 5 of 6

Re: Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

I don't know what brand drive will be in the laptop, they use different ones.

 

Both cloning programs need at least one of their own brand to be present.

 

With the Seagate version, I tried with a Seagate that I put in a external enclosure,

and for some reason it would not recognize it as a Seagate drive. Must have

been something to do with the enclosure interface. So it is not guaranteed to work.

 

Many free programs out there to clone, HERE is one. (Easeus Disk Copy).

 

WD program is HERE

 

Seagate program is HERE

Damnatory
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Location: Missouri
Views: 3,451
Message 6 of 6

Re: Installing new Hard Drive on IdeaPad Y560

Fantastic, thank you again!
Definitely helps to alleviate some of my concern for this model. lol

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors