cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Bogdan8225
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2016
Location: RO
Views: 1,122
Message 1 of 6

Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

Hello...I just bought a resealed Lenovo Y50-70 from a well known Romanian retailer which has i7-4710 hq, gtx 860, 1080p display, 1tb 5400 rpm HDD and 8 GB of RAM....The problem is that after I installed Windows 8.1 64bit on it, I can only use 6144 MB according to BIOS, CPU-Z and Resource monitor. Is the integrated video card taking 2GB of RAM or there is something else? ram.png

tripplec
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,379
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: CA
Views: 1,092
Message 2 of 6

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

Mostly likely Yes. If you have Intel Graphics and its active it will and typical takes up to 2GB of system Ram on startup. If your build has decrete graphics its not in use and won't be used as mine is unless configured by the Nvidia Tool to use it, app by app unfortunately. Unless there is a setting in the bios to use it only then Intel is not visible and hence not used.

Quick check is look in Device Manager and see if there are Two graphics adapter showing. If so it Optimise controlled system as most Lenovo machines with Nvidia as well.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Bogdan8225
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-05-2016
Location: RO
Views: 1,088
Message 3 of 6

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

Thanks for the reply...Anyway, I downloaded Lenovo Solution Center and it showed me that I have 1x4gb and 1x2gb RAM, so I guess my problem is hardware sided. I'm going to send the laptop to the service tomorrow. Searching the problem on the internet I found out that even if Intel HD Graphics takes 2 gb of ram, I should still see 8GB of installed memory on BIOS.

LanceTheeGamer
802.11n
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎12-17-2015
Location: US
Views: 1,084
Message 4 of 6

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

I'm glad you figured that out, as I was just about to chime in that it should still show as 8GB. You simply have 6GB installed, as you discovered.
y410p - Windows 10 x64 | i7-4700MQ | 16GB RAM |GT 755M SLI| 512GB ZTC M.2 |
3DMark: 4228 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/7029653
tripplec
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,379
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: CA
Views: 1,073
Message 5 of 6

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

Yes and if you go to Task Manage, then Performance you will see the memory total and other info. A lot of 8GB machines are 1 -8GB module so you can put another in the 2nd slot for 16GB. That's a bit of a dumb arrangement if you ask me.

Glad you see that anyway.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 1,051
Message 6 of 6

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 6GB RAM instead of 8GB

Welcome to the Forums Bogdan.

 

Great that all goes well. 

Please feel free to utilize our forums at any time.

Cheers!!Smiley Happy

           

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors