Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Diablo108
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,077
Message 1 of 2

Lenovo Y50-70 Dual Monitor

I'm looking for a bigger monitor setup with my laptop because i don't have a desktop.

The options i'm considering is one ultrawide or a dual monitor setup.

Now i was thinking, if it's even possible for my laptop to support two monitors.

My hardware specs are:

Nvidea Geforce GTX 960M 

16 GB ram

intel core i7-4720HQ CPU 2.60GHz

i'm fairly new with this kind of things, so don't know what would be possible.

The laptop has only 1 VGA and 3 USB ports

i read on other (closed) Threaths, that i would be able to use a USB 3.0 to HDMI / DVI Video Graphics Card Adapter.

But would a VGA splitter work too?

i got a HDMI to VGA adapter. So was thinking about using that to connect two monitors.

My questions are now:

Does the laptop even support a dual monitor setup?

Would a VGA splitter work with only one HDMI to VGA adapter connected on the laptop?

If not, would a ultrawide work?

Or is there a other way to connect two monitors with only one HDMI?

Homin
Token Ring
Views: 1,048
Message 2 of 2

Re: Lenovo Y50-70 Dual Monitor

The only setup I've try is only 1 external monitor (1 on laptop and another via HDMI port).

But I heard a lot of people using USB 3.0 HDMI Converter and successfully connect a Third Monitor (or 2nd external monitor) into the Y50-70. So, The answer to your question is... Yes, it is possible. Also, from the Intel® HD Graphics 4600 specification. It can support to maximun of 3 Display Device.

I did not talk about Nvidia GTX 960m specs since the one who have control over all monitors is Intel 4600.

Edit : More clearification.