cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Dudco
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Location: Canada
Views: 1,035
Message 1 of 5

Lenovo Y500 upgrade to a Full HD screen

Hello, 

 

If I don't have the Full HD (1080p) version of the Y500  can I upgrade my 1366*768 screen to a Full HD screen?  May I need to change the LCD cable or something else or just the screen?

 

 

Thank you. 

 

Dudco
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Location: Canada
Views: 986
Message 2 of 5

Re: Lenovo Y500 upgrade to a Full HD screen

Can somebody tell me which lvds cable (I mean number of channels and bits) are used in Lenovo y500.


Thank you

5HADE
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
Location: London ON
Views: 937
Message 3 of 5

Re: Lenovo Y500 upgrade to a Full HD screen

Has anyone upgraded their screen from 768p to 1080p yet? My screen just got busted, planning on replacing it and at the same time I want to upgrading it to 1080p. This forum says that it is possible but may need to patch DSDT. I have no idea what that is and how to patch it.

Galaican
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-15-2016
Location: ES
Views: 511
Message 4 of 5

Re: Lenovo Y500 upgrade to a Full HD screen

Hi, I just upgraded my Y500 ISK to a FHD display. I bought the new screen in eBay for 130 Euros (complete with hinges and cover) After the installation the resolution was the same as before the upgrade and the Control Panel showed 1366x768 as the maximum resolution but after connect the laptop to a TV screen (HDMI port) with a resolution of 1920x1080 the laptop screen started to work at this resolution. No mather if you restart the computer the new resolution remains the same (FHD) but the Control Panel still indicates 1366x768.

I would like to solve this little issue but I´m not sure if I have to install a new driver or a new BIOS. Any help is highly appreciated

Galaican
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-15-2016
Location: ES
Views: 495
Message 5 of 5

Re: Lenovo Y500 upgrade to a Full HD screen

I was wrong, the screen resolution changes back to 1366x768 as soon as I remove the HDMI cable. Now I´m not sure what is happening, the video controler shows 1920x1080 when the TV screen is connected, the image on the laptop screen changes (it looks smaller) but I can´t tell if the resolution is better.

Some one to help me? Thanks

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors