cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
andrewmof
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Views: 4,035
Message 1 of 16

Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

Hello All,

 

Hopefully I can get some useful information here. In a few months time I wish to upgrade my current OS Vista 32bit) to Windows 7 64 bit. Ive already located ram that would upgrade to 8GB which a huge improvement on my original ram. The problem I have and many people is the migration to 64bit. I have read messages saying the Y530's drivers for 64bit Vista will work with Windows 7 64bit, but im not sure yet. The problem being lenovo has not released any 64 bit drivers for the hardware on a Y710. Now I know a Y530 is generally the same computer just with a smaller screen.

Now here's the run down ive looked up all the vital driver (chipset, graphics) but the not usually uprgraded drivers such as BIOS and power management and ACPI, wireless, Ethernet, sound, and many others say they will accept a 64 bit version but im not sure if they are different from a 530 compared to a Y710.

Also the Lenovo specific drivers for the touch features on the laptop, and specific buttons. Would the drivers be the same for the 530 as the 710.

One big question is the Novo button. Ive used it before and know it reinstalled the OS. But how do I configure this when installing a new OS. Does it do it automatically? Or do I have to send it to Lenovo?

Hopefully I can get some reassurance on upgrading my computer! Thanks

 

Lenovo Y710

Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 (32bit)

2GB PC5300 SODIMM DDR2 Ram

Hitachi 250GB Hardrive

ATI Radeon Mobility HD 2600

 

Lenovo Ideapad Y710
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz
Hitachi Travelstar HTS542525K9SA00
2 GB PC5300 RAM (1GBx2)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Redsalamander
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,973
Message 2 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

I have a Y710 and am contemplating the Upgrade myself right now.

I have in the past found that you will lose some of the funtionality and I dont realy want to lose to much.

 

I have read that the Y730 drives also work and my current thinking is that between the Y530 and Y730 driver I should get most of it working.

 

With the acer notebooks I know you can burn a recovery disk that will restore to original. on the Lenovo It seems to be in a partition that does the recovery but to be honest If I reload that 30Gb C:\ drive  is going away as I will repartition to a single size.

But if win7 tanks and I have to go back I would realy like to be able to.

 

I moved to Windows 7 from Vista on my desktop and all I can say is Smiley Very Happy it is just sooooo much better in performance and stability.

andrewmof
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Views: 3,945
Message 3 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

Yah im just really worried about the NOVO button. I was really impressed when i first used it. 15 minutes and a completely crashed computer went to a brand new prefectly tuned processing machine. I'm going to email lenovo tech to see what i could do.

As for the 64bit, i would like to know a little more on the compatibility between the Y530's drivers and a Y710's i would presume there isnt much difference. But i would like minimilize the amount of cool "Lenovo Only" features that fall to the wayside as i move to Windows 7 and more importantly 64bit.

If i could only wrangle an admin to comment on this post!

 

Andrew

Lenovo Ideapad Y710
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz
Hitachi Travelstar HTS542525K9SA00
2 GB PC5300 RAM (1GBx2)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Redsalamander
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,929
Message 4 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

busy installing on a 2nd Hdd now.

The install went without a hitch.

Default install the following works without additional drivers.

Display detected at 1440x900 will install the ATI Drivers.

Sound not working 177Mb Download (ouch)

Wifi Working

 

I am downloading and hope to use the Y730 drivers and software.

I saw its all 32bit so will se how it works.

My desktop is 64Bit and i've had no issues with 32 bit software.

 

Will see how it goes and post my findings.

Redsalamander
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,922
Message 5 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

That went well.

 

I installed most of the Y730 Drivers and there are no undetected devices will be testing some more to see but it looks good.

 

There does seem to be one fairly anoying problem. the Numlock turns the uio keys into numbers and if you turn it off the numberpad does not work.

andrewmof
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Views: 3,899
Message 6 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

oh oh i think i may know your problem, umm its something within the bios. I remember stumbling upon it one time. Something to do with the NUMlock feature in bios. Try it there it may help you out.

Is your desktop a lenovo? Right what im worried about is that there is no 64bit drivers for the Y710. So i was wondering if i can use the Y530's 64bit drivers for my Y710 when i up grade to 64 bit windows 7. I can get 64bit for all of the big hardware, its just this little stuff like touch controls on the pad and sound toggle on the pad. Also Lenovo Easy camera.

Lenovo Ideapad Y710
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz
Hitachi Travelstar HTS542525K9SA00
2 GB PC5300 RAM (1GBx2)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Redsalamander
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,869
Message 7 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

Smiley Happy Clever

 

Yes Indeed that was it.

 

The bios info is a little random but there are only 2 options so try the other one and see, and indeed I now again have the functionality that makes the ideapad AWESOME working.

andrewmof
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-29-2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Views: 3,850
Message 8 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

haha thats awesome, i knew it was something to do with the bios. I saw it on my friends computer just last week, while i was rummaging through the bios. So good thats its working again, but im still in the deciding mode of this 64bit upgrade, any help?


 

Lenovo Ideapad Y710
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz
Hitachi Travelstar HTS542525K9SA00
2 GB PC5300 RAM (1GBx2)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Redsalamander
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,837
Message 9 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

I am very happy.

 

I know you wanted to have the NOVO button working, and that seems to be the only one that does not. But the Windows7 install was so painless its probably not worth worrying about.

 

I have only had mine for 3 days and so did not play around with the vista install to much but I had vista on my desktop since forever and started with windows7 since RC3 I have been so happy with it that when I saw it back on the laptop the other day I had exactly 24 hours in which I experienced two hangs and thought enough is enough.

 

My honest opinion just do it.

 

The Y710 has a big advantage as you can fit another HDD ( I have a computer company so I had a 250Gb Sata laying around )

 

I stuck that in formatted it and installed. I started last night at about 10PM and had most things working by 1am Today I gave it to my lead tech and he updated all the drivers etc and loaded NOD32 and Office 2010 Beta.

 

I would recommend you stick a second drive in and install on that to test.

 

The only thing and honestly it's not a train smash is the Veriface is installed and registers but does not work to log me in, I've never had it before and wont miss it to much.

Taki
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Location: South Africa
Views: 3,503
Message 10 of 16

Re: Lenovo Y710- Upgrade to Windows 7 64bit from Vista 32bit

did anyone get the webcam working on 64bit win7?

 

My dvd-rw has also disappeared, everything else is working fine though. 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors