Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ArthurMajin
Paper Tape
Views: 1,092
Message 1 of 4

Lower Performance. Ideapad Y510P

Hi to everyone. I have brought my Lenovo Ideapad Y510P since september last year and for a while I couldn't be more satisfied.However, After like 2 months of use, I started noticing some temporary and repetitive performance drop in some games.  Listed below are the problems I noticed :

1) All the games start fine, at for example 60 FPS, but then after like 10 or less minutes of gaming, the FPS drop to like 15- 20. It stays that way for like 2-6 mins and then comes back to normal. process which repeats itself several times.  It has been really anoying specially since I started playing heavy games like Farcry 3, Titanfall and Batlefield 3, all multiplayer.  Instead of playing at 1080P, i reduced and started to play at 1366 x 768 to get more performance, but still the problem continues whether using SLI or not.

2) My model didnt come with a SSD so, for storage upgrade I went for an 1 TB 7200 rpm drive instead of the factory 5400 rpm drive. is a SSHD a good option for this one? I don't want to go for an SSD because of the cost, and also cause since I am only allowed to have one HD, I dont intent on sacrficing too much space. cause I have a lot of stuff in it and only 500 GB's ( which is the max for an SSD that i could afford after a loooong saving ) wouldnt be enough.

For last, would a upgrade to 16 GB RAM from Croshair bring me considerably performance increases ?

I and not really an expert on hardware so, i  dont really know what to do for now. PLs help me!

Guru
Views: 1,057
Message 2 of 4

Re: Lower Performance. Ideapad Y510P

Hi, since your system is already pretty fast I dont believe that getting a Hybrid drive or increasing the RAM will upgrade your performance significantly in gaming.

When you are playing the game, Is your laptop plugged into power?