cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
lenovoraja
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2009
Location: USA
Views: 2,608
Message 11 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

Hello All,

 

I checked the Idea Pad Y530 and the chipset it has, and subsequently i checked this link http://ark.intel.com/chipset.aspx?familyID=35515, which says it supports max 8 GB, So does that mean that i can improve upon my Ram???????.

 Forgive me for my ignorance I may be wrong.

 

Also How Do i look for what is the maximum allowed RAM for each slot as mentioned by your kidnselves on the IDEA Pad is there a specifi place I can look for .

 

 

Regards

 

LenovoRaja

Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
Views: 2,591
Message 12 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

Click for reference.

 

Go to Section 1.1 - "Intel PM45 chipset".

You will see the following under Section 1.1.2 - "System memory"

  • 8GB maximum memory support
  • 256MB, 512MB, 1GB, and 2GB memory technologies supported

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
lenovoraja
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-05-2009
Location: USA
Views: 2,585
Message 13 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

Hello Guru,

 

Thank you very much for the link, this disappoints me a little as i was looking forward to increasing the Memory to 8 Gb, OK next time, next Laptop Better luck.

 

Regards

 

LenovoRaja

latief
Punch Card
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Location: USA
Views: 2,583
Message 14 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

It actually could work.......if i were you, i would try it !!if it does not work, return the ram...that is the only way to actually know for sure IMHO !!:smileyhappy:
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
Views: 2,577
Message 15 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

It would be an expensive test. $699 for a 2 x 4GB DDR3, from NewEgg, is out of my reach and needs. Otherwise I would try this myself to get a definite answer.

 

There is a possibility that the Intel specs could be missing this detail [support for 4GB modules].

Message Edited by ortegaluis on 04-08-2009 02:12 PM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
latief
Punch Card
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Location: USA
Views: 2,569
Message 16 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

I agree with you, I did not realize it was so ridiculously expensive......

 

at that price, even if it works, it is not worth it!!!! Buy another laptop for that money!!!

 

 

Message Edited by latief on 04-08-2009 05:20 PM
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
Views: 1,744
Message 17 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

It kind of is over the top. Buying a laptop at +$600/$700 and doubling the investment by installing 8GB of memory? However, in the proper hands, it would be useful but the average user wouldn't benefit from 8GB of memory.

 

*Edit*

I did some more research and stumbled upon this page on Intel's website. It seems that Intel validated two particular 4GB modules for use with GM45 chipset based motherboards. In particular, the M471B5273BH1-CF8 which is a 4GB module manufactured by Samsung. However, let's not assume that support for 4GB modules is implemented in the Y530 BIOS.

Message Edited by ortegaluis on 04-08-2009 02:49 PM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Retired Guru
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Location: Moscow, Russia
Views: 1,725
Message 18 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

ortegaluis, you're partially right. PM45/PM47 and GM47 in new revisions support 4GB modules - for example, Y450/Y550/Y650 support summary 8GB by two modules 4GB each. But Y430/Y530 and other *30 models  support 2 GB per slot only due to old revisions of chipset and BIOS. I believe tere's no way to create new BIOS that will cause support of more RAM capaity due to ipset limitations.
//help will save the world
Retired Guru
Posts: 1,406
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: California, United States
Views: 1,708
Message 19 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

skripatch, could you post some links to documents detailing this information? I don't mean to discredit or question your knowledge. I just want to get these details right so that I don't pass on false information.
Message Edited by ortegaluis on 04-09-2009 10:13 AM

\\ I do not respond to PM regarding individual tech support. Keep discussions in the forum for the benefit of others //
Retired Guru
Posts: 2,308
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Location: Moscow, Russia
Views: 1,703
Message 20 of 21

Re: Y530-IdeaPad- RAM Upgrade

ortegaluis, my information source is Russian techsupport. They have international free 8-800-700-78-88 phone number and they're capable of English language which is pleasant =)

it is trustworthy source - never failed me.

They have specs for Y550 and stuff series as well as Y530 and others. Some info was given by them and some was collected from forums. Sorry, can't provide more than that.

//help will save the world

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors