Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mlaguayojr
Blue Screen Again
Views: 1,428
Message 1 of 11

Reinstalling Windows 8 from Windows 7

My laptop came shippped with Windows 8 x64 when the OS was first released and i did not enoy my experience with it. A few months later I downgraded from Windows 8 x64 to Windows 7 Ultimate x64. Unfortunately windows 7 is getting slugish and I feel like doing a fresh install of Windows 8.

I am currently a student and I have dreamspark (where I can download OS' for free). Appearantly the keys are locked in the BIOs and the only way they work is to reinstall the Windows 8 version that came with my laptop. I am sad to say that I have no memory of which Windows 8 was installed let alone my key.

tl;dr - Downgraded from preinstalled windows 8 to windows 7 (both x64) and can't upgrade since I dont remember what version of Windows 8 came preinstalled.

Computer - ideapad y510P

Sorry for any inconvenience, first time member here

LenBlazer
Bit Torrent
Views: 1,399
Message 2 of 11

Re: Reinstalling Windows 8 from Windows 7

To determine the details about the pre-installed os in your unit download "Personal System Reference" for ideapads and locate the model of your unit. You should be able to know the default version and other feature of the os.

mlaguayojr
Blue Screen Again
Views: 1,387
Message 3 of 11

@LenBlazer wrote:

To determine the details about the pre-installed os in your unit download "Personal System Reference" for ideapads and locate the model of your unit. You should be able to know the default version and other feature of the os.

Figured out how to go into Bios and looked around. Found out my SN YB0099230 and its claims my version is "Win 8 STD MLT". Im assuming this is "Windows 8 standard multilanguage". My problem is getting an ISO for this

LenBlazer
Bit Torrent
Views: 1,378
Message 4 of 11