Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
doubleblind
What's DOS?
Views: 588
Message 1 of 3

Replace Lenovo Y50 Hard Drive

Hello, 

I want to replace the 500GB/24GB Hybrid Hard drive that came stock with my Lenovo Y50 to something with a bigger storage capacity, as I've already filled the 500 GB C drive. 

My computer runs Windows 8.1 that came installed on the computer, and I want to make sure when I replace the hard drive that I can reinstall Windows, becuase we aren't provided with a backup copy of this version of Windows with the computer. 

Do I have to use a cloning program to successfully complete the switch? I've made a backup of my system in OneKey Recovery but I don't know if I can use this backup directly from my external hard drive to put onto my new hard drive? 

I'm not the most technologically literate, as you can probably tell, but I have some working knowledge. I just don't want to screw this up! Please help with plain language instructions! 

Thanks!

Sarah

bsully27
Punch Card
Views: 574
Message 2 of 3

Re: Replace Lenovo Y50 Hard Drive

I am also wondering thism but some of the hard drives I have been looking at on Amazon come with clonijng software for you to do this. It's what I will probably use

LenBlazer
Bit Torrent
Views: 566
Message 3 of 3

Re: Replace Lenovo Y50 Hard Drive

@doubleblind wrote:

Hello, 

I want to replace the 500GB/24GB Hybrid Hard drive that came stock with my Lenovo Y50 to something with a bigger storage capacity, as I've already filled the 500 GB C drive. 

My computer runs Windows 8.1 that came installed on the computer, and I want to make sure when I replace the hard drive that I can reinstall Windows, becuase we aren't provided with a backup copy of this version of Windows with the computer. 

Do I have to use a cloning program to successfully complete the switch? I've made a backup of my system in OneKey Recovery but I don't know if I can use this backup directly from my external hard drive to put onto my new hard drive?