cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
msanis88
Paper Tape
Views: 385
Message 1 of 4

Some information before I upgrade my Y580...

Hello everyone,

I recently took the plunge on the Y580, it was a great deal and I was excited about the prospect of upgrading it to boost its performance even a little further. The problem is, while I'm not completely inexperienced, I'm not very experienced,  so I am concerned about making a rookie mistake in choosing  the hardware for the upgrade. Well, that, and I am also a little uncertain if one of the upgrades I want to do is even possible, so I guess I'd like to ask about that too. Any relevant information would be appreciated.

So, about that potentially impossible upgrade. The impression I got after reading around a bit is that the Y580 has both an HDD and an SDD-- i.e. not one of those hybrid drives. A friend of mine cautioned me that the drive might be a hybrid, which would consequently mean there is only one slot in there. Is my assumption that they are two physically separate drives correct? What I'd like to do is remove the small SDD and replace it with a larger 256GB SDD that I'd put my OS on, and then use the remaining 1 TB HDD as supplemental storage. Of course, this would only work if the Y580 can contain the two separate drives. Is there anything I should know about that might throw a wrench in my plans? What would be some known SSDs that work with the Y580?

I'm also considering upgrading the RAM to 16GB. There seems to be some conflicting information about whether the Y580 can handle an upgrade to 16GB, but after reading around here for a while, the general consensus seems to be that it is possible. Is there a reason why there is so much conflicting information-- e.g. would the upgrade be harmful to the system in any way? Any recommendations on known types that would work with the Y580?

Social Support Agent
Social Support Agent
Views: 341
Message 2 of 4