cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
KarlEngelking
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Location: Sacramento
Views: 4,786
Message 1 of 11

Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

So pretty soon I'm going to dumping some money into my laptop and want to know what I can do

 

First off, my system right now:

1.73 i7 (Turbo to 2.93)

4gb 1066

500gb 7200rpm (already upgraded)

1gb ATI 5730

 

What I want to do:

8gb 1333

320 or 500 SSD

 i7-920XM (2.0 - 3.2)

 

Is it all compatible?

 

Also there is a little square panel on the bottom front that when you take off there is nothing there but a connector, what is it for?

 

Thanks!

Karl

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,713
Message 2 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

if you have intel hm55 chipset, you can upgrade cpu to i7-920xm.

it's also possible to upgrade ram to 8 gb ( windows 64 bit operation system required )

i'm not sure but i don't think you can upgrade to ssd 320 gb or more ( maybe 64 or 128 gb but )


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
KarlEngelking
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Location: Sacramento
Views: 4,693
Message 3 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

Ok, I know I can do 8gb, but it was the 1333 I was worried about? I don't want to pay more for RAM that's just going to be downclocked by my motherboard?

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,669
Message 4 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

according to the user manual, it works.

http://img815.imageshack.us/img815/9108/y560ram.png

 

( marking this thread as solved )


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
KarlEngelking
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Location: Sacramento
Views: 4,656
Message 5 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,646
Message 6 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

space for sim card slot.

(specific models only)


http://www.krasotaiskusstva.com
Meetloaf13
SCSI Port
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
Location: USA
Views: 4,625
Message 7 of 11

Re: Upgrading the Ideapad Y560

The RAM might work, but I don't think the bus-speed is that high for our machines, in which case it would be downclocked.

*****************************************************************************
| Lenovo Y560 06465BU | i7-740QM 1.73GHz | ATI HD 5730 1GB | 15.4" HD LED 1366x768 LGD229 | Intel Wi-Fi 1000 | Win 7 HP x64 | Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR | 3dMark06 8189 | BIOS v62
apelin20
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-28-2010
Location: US, NY
Views: 4,067
Message 8 of 11

Y560 CPU Upgrade

So I got an i7-720QM when I bought the laptop. That was the best processor available and that is what I picked.

I want something better now.

Can my motherboard support anything?

Y560 seems easy to disassemble and CPU easy to access and maybe easy to access and replace.

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 13,719
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Location: CZ
Views: 4,056
Message 9 of 11
penguscheiffe
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Location: Charleston
Views: 3,935
Message 10 of 11

Upgrading my Y560

So I'm looking at the list of compatible processors for the HM55 chips set and found one I like. I was intending on getting the INtel i7 Q40qm processor. But before I drop 600 on it, I wanted to ask the community whether this particular hardware was compatible with the BIOS and if it'd cause problems for the powersuppy and if so, how I should go about fixing these. I'm fairly new to the world of computer building but I'm learning. Any help would be really appreciated. Smiley Happy

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors