English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

07-13-2017

DE

4 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2017
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 25
  • Message 1 of 3

Using the SSD built in my Ideapad Y500

2017-07-13, 8:21 AM

Hello,

I just formatted my Laptop after switching hard disks.

I bought a hybrid 2TB Hard drive (with 8GB SSD built in inside)

 

And I know the Y500 has a 16GB SSD built in as well.

So now my D drive is the 16GB SSD.

Windows is intalled in C drive (the normal HDD)

 

In the past I haven't used it at all,

But I wonder now how should I ?

 

Do I just install important applications on my D drive instead of C drive?

Or there is more to it?

 

Thank you in advance,

Elad.

Reply
Options

2953 Posts

02-22-2017

GB

1083 Signins

26243 Page Views

  • Posts: 2953
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2017
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 26243
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Using the SSD built in my Ideapad Y500

2017-07-14, 8:09 AM

Hello Ghostmize

Thanks for using the Lenovo forums.


Have a look on the following post, this should give you a good idea on how to handle an SSD with what:

 

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2110095/the-ultimate-guide-to-proper-ssd-management.html

 

EDIT*: This might prove useful as well:

http://lifehacker.com/5932009/the-complete-guide-to-solid-state-drives

 

Hope this helps, let us know how you get on.


==================================================================================
Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

 

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.



Pesszimistának lenni a legjobb, vagy igazad van, vagy kellemesen meglepődsz...
Reply
Options

2 Posts

07-13-2017

DE

4 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎07-13-2017
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 25
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Using the SSD built in my Ideapad Y500

2017-07-14, 8:16 AM

Thank you so much for the kind response.

 

However, in the meantime I got the impression I might have gotten it all wrong.

Instead of using the SSD, that I should use ExpressCache instead.

 

Meaning not allocating  myself the SSD drive, and only let the service use it.

 

Is that the right choice? Or it would be better to use the SSD as a functional ?

 

Thanks again,

Elad.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save