Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
Location: West Virginia
0 Kudos

Windows Live OneCare on Y510

Hello all,  I don't know if this has been addressed before. Will Windows Live OneCare work OK on my Y510. I have been looking to change my Norton Anti-Virus 2007 that came pre-installed on my Y510.

 

Any input on this matter would be helpful.

Retired Guru
Posts: 2,307
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Location: Moscow, Russia
0 Kudos

Re: Windows Live OneCare on Y510

Lenovo Care is deighned for Thinkpads and old lenovo 3000.

In Ideapads and new lenovo 3000 there's OKR system, it is different.

//help will save the world
Posts: 2,917
Topics: 106
Kudos: 158
Blog Posts: 0
Solutions: 123
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Location: US
0 Kudos

Re: Windows Live OneCare on Y510

yes windows live one care will run fine on your system before using it you have to un-install your anti virus products your firewall(thirdparty ones if any) and then go for live one care its pretty nice live one care...




Cheers and regards,
• » νιנαソѕαяα∂нι ѕαмανє∂αм ™ « •
●๋•کáŕádhí'ک díáŕý ツ


I am a volunteer here. I don't work for Lenovo
Serial Port
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎03-27-2008
Location: Clinton, NY
0 Kudos

Re: Windows Live OneCare on Y510

samavedam_vijay is absolutely correct. Windows Live OneCare will work just fine, but as samavedam_vijay said, make sure you uninstall ALL antivirus programs and any firewalls first (except the Vista FW, of course!).  Reboot. Then install WLOC. You should be good to go!
Beer... It does a body good!
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
Location: West Virginia
0 Kudos

Re: Windows Live OneCare on Y510

Update: I ended up installing Norton AntiVirus 2008 instead of Windows Live OneCare. My Y510 came installed with Norton 2007. I like the way it works. 2008 is just about the same. Nothing new to learn.

 

Thanks to all who replied.

 

TLG1