English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo P, Y and Z series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

07-02-2013

USA

3 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2013
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 32
  • Message 1 of 6

Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-07-02, 1:21 AM

Hello,

 

I jsut got my y410p. The model I got included the SSD. However, while the it is visible in intel rapid repsonse software, there is no option to accelerate. There is a tab called perfomance instead and that jsut refers to a power saving feature, no option to use the SSD as a cache.

 

The harddrive is setup as an AHCI drive and I am running windows 8.

 

Any ideas/thoughts?

 

Thanks,

Arthenios

 

 

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-07-03, 15:34 PM

hi Arthenios,

 

If that's the status of the Intel Rapid, your system might be using the Expresscache to cache the SSD,

 

I have seen a Y510p utilizing express cache preinstalled.

 

to check if expresscache is the Software caching your SSD you can follow this Post

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-Z-and-P-series/Y500-How-do-I-tell-if-automatic-SSD-cache-is-working/m-p/989349#M76334

 

if it's cached properly with express cache you shouldn't have to worry.

 

Hope this helps,

cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-02-2013

USA

3 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2013
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 32
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-07-03, 20:38 PM
Thank you Cruver, that's exactly what it was! Is Intel Rapid needed at all then, is there any reason to leave it installed?
Reply
Options

4469 Posts

04-22-2013

Philippines

3830 Signins

254594 Page Views

  • Posts: 4469
  • Registered: ‎04-22-2013
  • Location: Philippines
  • Views: 254594
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-07-03, 20:46 PM

hi Arthenios,

 

Welcome!

Yes! Just leave it there it is also utilized by rapid start that makes your boot up and Wake Much faster than normal,

 

 

Hope this helps,

Cheers!

:smileyhappy:



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

4 Posts

07-02-2013

USA

3 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2013
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 32
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-07-03, 21:13 PM
Gotcha. Thanks once again!
Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-11-2013

Arizona

3 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2013
  • Location: Arizona
  • Views: 14
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

2013-11-11, 18:12 PM

I just did as on that post but no significant improvement  It still takes around a minute to boot up.  Just wonder should I install the intel rapid storage  before I install expresscache even the IRST does not work? Also after install expresscache the cache read/write percentage are both 0.00%. is that normal?

 

I just wipped the entire system and install a Win 7 on it instead. Does that matter 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete