cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Arthenios
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Location: USA
Views: 6,268
Message 1 of 6

Y410p SSD Caching Help

Hello,

 

I jsut got my y410p. The model I got included the SSD. However, while the it is visible in intel rapid repsonse software, there is no option to accelerate. There is a tab called perfomance instead and that jsut refers to a power saving feature, no option to use the SSD as a cache.

 

The harddrive is setup as an AHCI drive and I am running windows 8.

 

Any ideas/thoughts?

 

Thanks,

Arthenios

 

 

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 4,447
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Location: Philippines
Views: 6,225
Message 2 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

hi Arthenios,

 

If that's the status of the Intel Rapid, your system might be using the Expresscache to cache the SSD,

 

I have seen a Y510p utilizing express cache preinstalled.

 

to check if expresscache is the Software caching your SSD you can follow this Post

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-Z-and-P-series/Y500-How-do-I-tell-if-automatic-SSD-cache-i...

 

if it's cached properly with express cache you shouldn't have to worry.

 

Hope this helps,

cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Arthenios
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Location: USA
Views: 6,209
Message 3 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

Thank you Cruver, that's exactly what it was! Is Intel Rapid needed at all then, is there any reason to leave it installed?
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 4,447
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Location: Philippines
Views: 6,205
Message 4 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

hi Arthenios,

 

Welcome!

Yes! Just leave it there it is also utilized by rapid start that makes your boot up and Wake Much faster than normal,

 

 

Hope this helps,

Cheers!

Smiley Happy



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Highlighted
Arthenios
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Location: USA
Views: 6,195
Message 5 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

Gotcha. Thanks once again!
maiqing86
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-11-2013
Location: Arizona
Views: 5,022
Message 6 of 6

Re: Y410p SSD Caching Help

I just did as on that post but no significant improvement  It still takes around a minute to boot up.  Just wonder should I install the intel rapid storage  before I install expresscache even the IRST does not work? Also after install expresscache the cache read/write percentage are both 0.00%. is that normal?

 

I just wipped the entire system and install a Win 7 on it instead. Does that matter 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors